Christmas Cards · Free Printable

Foiling a Christmas Card & Free Printable!

Making your own Christmas cards is always a huge task to accomplish. To make it even worse on myself, I can’t make the same card over and over again. I should correct that, I could, but with my short attention span I would get bored and they would never be finished!

This year I am having a blast with foiling some of my cards. It is so simple and I can have several cards done in no time at all!

Here are the cards I am going to share with you today!

evergreenboughfinishedcards3

Here’s my process-

First I printed off my own design onto white card stock. Make sure to use a laser printer, not an inkjet! I use this Laser Printer. And let me tell you, this has been so worth the investment just for everyday printing!

evergreenboughprocess1

Then simply trimmed out with my paper trimmer, making sure to cut as close as possible to the  black border without leaving any of the block on the card front.

evergreenboughprocess2

For this technique you will also need some foil. I used Thermoweb’s gold foil which can be found here and here. I also used Heidi Swapp’s  red and green foil pack which you can pick up here or  here. On both cards I used the green foil for the evergreen, but switched up the color of the sentiments. I used gold on the first card and red on the second just for a different look. I love how they both turned out!

evergreenboughprocess3

All you have to do at this point is cut a foil piece big enough to fit over the image you want to foil and lay it down with the SHINY SIDE FACING UP!! Here you can see that I very carefully taped mine down. I had a difficult time with the Heidi Swapp foils rolling up when I laid them down. The Thermoweb foil seemed to be a bit more hefty and laid down better, however I don’t see this as a huge issue as I just used a bit of washi to tape down the side, but this will be something that I will keep in mind when purchasing more foil in the future.

evergreenboughprocess4

Next, place your project into a “carrier sheet”, I use a a piece of regular typing paper folded in half, and run it either through your laminator or Minc  Machine. This is the laminator I use, set to heat up to the 5 millimeter thickness.

evergreenboughprocess5

After it your project has gone through the laminator, let it cool and then carefully peel away your foil to reveal the gorgeousness! This, honestly, never ceases to amaze me! evergreenboughprocess6

evergreenboughprocess7

To finish off my cards, I cut an 8 1/2 X 11 sheet of Bazzill Cherry Splash Cardstock in half to measure 8 1/2 X 5 1/2. Then, fold those in half to measure 4 1/4 X 5 1/2, which is a side folding A2 card base.

evergreenboughprocess8

Finally, I cut some fun foam to be slightly smaller than my card front and attached it to the front then to the card base using Tombow Mono Multi Glue. You can find that glue here and here. It is my favorite to use, as it leaves me time to wiggle things around until I get them exactly where I want them. (Please excuse my dirty glue bottle. It is just well loved!)

evergreenboughprocess9

evergreenboughfinishedcards2

From start to finish, these cards took me a total of 20 minutes and I am absolutely loving the way they both turned out! These pictures definitely do not do these cards justice!

evergreenboughfinishedcardsredfoilevergreenboughfinishedcardsgoldfoil

If you would also like to create some of these cards here is the  Free Printable! Just follow the steps above and you are sure to impress the recipients of these beauties!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

