Christmas Cards

One Card Design Two Ways

As promised I am back with another project using the Cozy Christmas stamp set and Home and Hearth dies by Julie Ebersole for Ellen Hutson.

I decided to create this card two different ways. I will show you how I created a simple Christmas card, however, with just switching up the colors and sentiment, it can become a card that can be used for a housewarming, new baby, or welcome home to name just a few.

My cards today were inspired by this card.

Here’s my process-

Again, here is a picture of the Cozy Christmas stamp set and Home and Hearth dies that I will be using on these cards.

HomeCardsProcess1

First, I started by cutting my panels. I cut two to measure 4 1/4 X 5 1/2 and one at 4 x 5 1/4. I taped all the layers together, the way they would be on the finished card, and marked the middle and sides two inches down with a pencil.

I took out the top panel that was 1/4 inch smaller and kept the two A2 sized panels taped together, lined up the marks in my paper trimmer, and trimmed off the corners to create the house shape. At this point I also took my back A2 sized piece and scored it, then glued the A2 sized panels together above the score mark to make my card base.

HomeCardsProcess2

Next, after drawing a straight line onto the top panel, I lined up my stamps and stamped the letters H, M, and E in Papertrey Ink’s Simply Chartreuse with my MISTI. Unfortunately the Stamp Set I used is no longer available, however, this one is quite similar.

HomeCardsProcess3

I then used the medium sized house in the die set, and lined it up to use as my “O” and cut it using my Big Shot. To make sure I didn’t use my little window pieces, I just put them into a little cup. I will need these to finish off my card.

HomeCardsProcess4

For my next step, my MISTI was a lifesaver!  I wanted to stamp the house on the card base and have the card panel lifted to add some interest and dimension to the project. To do this, I used my Misti and placed the base and panel into my MISTI, being careful to have them lined up the way I would be lining them up on the finished card. I lined up my stamp with the die cut, closed the lid to pick up the stamp, and then was able to remove my panel and have a perfectly placed stamp that I could stamp onto the card base. For my house I used Papertrey Ink’s Pure Poppy.

HomeCardsProcess5

Then, I used Papertey Ink’s Smokey Shadow to stamp the smoke coming from the chimney. I also used the same ink to do some selective inking to stamp my sentiment, half being above and the other half below the HOME. In this picture you can see I just use a piece of washi tape to cover the part I don’t want any ink on and then remove the tape and stamp it onto my project. Again, I really don’t know what I would do without my MISTI!

HomeCardsProcess6

For the Christmas card I did stamp the Merry Christmas sentiment inside using the same Smokey Shadow ink, however, on my other card I left the inside blank and will fill that in when I need it.

HomeCardsProcess7

To finish the card I used some foam tape to pop up the top panel, making sure to line it up over the house I had stamped on the base. I also used tiny bits of foam tape to put back in the little windows the give the house a true inset look.

HomeCardsProcess8

Here a few more pictures of the finished cards.

HomeCardsFinished2HomeCardsFinished4HomeCardsFinished3HomeCardsFinished1

Thanks so much for looking! Happy Crafting!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “One Card Design Two Ways

  1. Oh, Lindsay, these are so adorable, and I love the little house with the smoke coming from the chimney. Great idea when you can use this for Christmas and throughout the year. Great step-out instructions, and what did we ever do without our MISTI? Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

