Get Well Cards · Watercolor

A Masculine Get Well Card

Let me start by saying, I wasn’t originally intending to share this card. However, I really liked how it was coming along, so I started taking pictures about midway through, and the pictures aren’t that great as I was in a bit of rush to get it done in time.

Here’s (part of) the process for this card:

I used a Stampin’ Up! stamp set called From The Herd for this card. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like it’s available anymore. However, I found this cute stamp set from My Favorite Things. With some masking, it would give you a similar look. I also love the sentiment “Are you CURED yet?”, it is just adorable!

FarmAnimalGetWellProcess1

First, I prepped my surface with my embossing bag and using my  MISTI I stamped the animal image with Versafine Onyx Black Ink onto  Ranger Watercolor Paper that I had cut down to 4 1/4 X 5 1/2. I opted to use my MISTI so I could double stamp onto the watercolor paper, since it has texture and I hardly ever get a good impression the first time. Since I knew I would be watercoloring I heat embossed the image using Ranger’s Super Fine Detail Powder in Clear.

My next step was to watercolor the image. I used several different colors of Distress Inks and Distress Markers. All of the Colors I used are pictures below including the Versafine Onyx Black Ink and the super fine detail clear embossing powder.  FarmAnimalGetWellProcess2

After the watercolor was completely dry, I put the image back into my MISTI and, using the Onyx Black Ink again, stamped the sentiment “just looking in on you…”. While I had my ink and stamp set out I also stamped the sentiment “and hope you’re feeling better soon.” in the inside of the card base. The card base, which I made using white card stock, measured 4 1/4 X 5 1/2.

FarmAnimalGetWellProcess3

To finish off the card, I cut about 1/8″ off each long side of my watercolor panel,  then mounted it onto a piece of black cardstock from Bazzill that measured 4 1/8 X 5 1/2 using a piece of fun foam and Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue. Then using the same glue I mounted the black cardstock onto the card base.

FarmAnimalGetWellProcess5

On most of my cards, I also try and decorate the envelope. For this card, I stamped the animal image onto the envelope using my MISTI and Onyx Black Ink again.

You can color this in or leave it black and white like I did. I didn’t picture it here, but to give this to the recipient I did a bit of hand letting of his name in a semi circle around the image.

FarmAnimalGetWellProcess6&7

Here are a few images of the finished card. FarmAnimalGetWellFinishedCard3FarmAnimalGetWellFinishedCard1

And the inside of the card.

FarmAnimalGetWellFinishedCard2

Thanks for looking and Happy Crafting!

 

Leave a Reply

