Hello Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Masking A Scene — Featuring Two Paper Divas

 

So I have some exciting news. I have joined the Two Paper Divas design team!! I am thrilled to be joining a VERY talented group of ladies and showcasing these awesome stamps. If you want to know more about Two Paper Divas and their story you can check out their website HERE! I would HIGHLY suggest looking around their website and checking out the design team blogs! Another great bonus they offer on their website is their gallery page. There you can find inspiration and card examples for all the stamp sets they offer. Two Paper Divas will also be starting a card challenge on February 8th so make sure to check back for more details on that!

Since today is my first post with Two Paper Divas, I thought a welcome card would be appropriate. I used two stamp sets, On The Road Again and On The Road Again Accessories, which coordinate with each other, to mask out a scene. This is a little bit of a process to mask out the entire scene, however, it is SO worth the end result, in my opinion. Here is the video, a bit lengthy, however, I wanted to show the entire process in case you want to create something similar!



 

To mask out the scene on this card, I started by stamping the camper, chair, and trees onto some masking paper and trimming them out. Masking paper does make this technique easier, however, you can also use Post-It notes or plain typing paper (with some sort of temporary adhesive on the back) to achieve the same effect.

To start masking a scene, you first want to stamp the object that is in the forefront. In this case, it was my chair. I prepped my surface with my embossing bag and stamped the chair in Versafine Onyx Black Ink onto some watercolor paper that measure 4 1/4 x 5 1/2. I then heat embossed the image using Ranger Clear Superfine Detail Embossing Powder and my heat tool.

Before I go any further, let me say there were a few “tools” that really saved me a lot of time on this card. The first was my MISTI. This tool just allowed me to speed up the process of laying out the scene and it also gave me reassurance since I was stamping onto watercolor paper. Another, believe it or not, was a coffee filter. I used the coffee filter as my “holder” for my embossing powder and a disposable spoon. It also caught all of my embossing powder and kept the mess to a minimum and also allowed me to just move it out of the way as I kept stamping my scene. The last was my embossing bag. This just kept my stray powders to a minimum in this dry, dry weather.

After I stamped my chair, I put the chair mask on top of it and lined up my camper stamp and repeated the same process of stamping it down in the Versafine ink and then heat embossed in clear.

**Make sure to remove your masks before applying your embossing powder!!**

My next stamp, which was the welcome mat, didn’t require any masking so it was nice and easy just to stamp and emboss at the base of the door on the camper. I then moved onto the trees, which required me to place down the camper mask and also the chair mask. I then stamped the tree on both the left and right side of the paper next to the camper and then embossed both the images at the same time.

My final additions to the scene were the mountains in the very background. For these you need to put down the camper mask and also both tree masks. These mountains were incredibly easy to line up with one another and just stamped beautifully! And I will say that none of these images required double stamping AT ALL which is pretty unheard of with me and watercolor paper! Again, I stamped all of the mountains and then heat embossed them all at the same time.

That completed the masking process and when you take off all your masks you have a great masked out scene that looks so realistic and dimensional, but is completely one layer!

I wanted to keep the emphasis of this card on the stamped panel, so I simply water colored with Distress markers, trimmed off about 1/8 inch from each side of the panel and mounted it into an A2 black top folding card base with some fun foam!


Supply List


 



 

I really hope this gave you all some inspiration to mask our your own scene! Thanks so much for looking!! Happy Crafting!!

5 thoughts on “Masking A Scene — Featuring Two Paper Divas

  1. Pingback: Simply A Card

Leave a Reply

