Get Well Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Using a Sketch to Design a Card — Introducing Two Paper Divas Monthly Challenge

TWO PAPER DIVAS IS STARTING A MONTHLY CHALLENGE!!! This month is a sketch challenge, however, the theme will change monthly, so a little something for everyone. The challenge will start on the second Monday of each month and will run for two weeks. Easy peasy!

Head on over to Two Paper Divas to check out the challenge and enter your card! There are two $20 gift cards to the Two Paper Divas store up for grabs!

The sketch for this month is a winner!! You can follow it exactly or you can interpret it a bit differently, like I did. I kept all the elements of the sketch, I just smooshed, streched, and pulled bits and pieces to design this card. That’s one of the great things about a sketch challenge! It’s so fun to see how everyone interprets it and designs their card!

 


 

I did make a video to show you how I put my card together. Here it is!


I started this card by stamping my umbrella in Versafine Onyx Black Ink onto some Canson Watercolor paper. I masked the umbrella with some masking paper and then stamped my duck to look like it was holding the umbrella. It was also stamped in Versafine Onyx Black Ink, along the bottom of the panel.

Looking at the sketch, there is a panel down the center of the card. Since my duck was holding an umbrella, I decided he needed to be protecting himself from the rain. To acheive a “rain shower” that was a straight panel I simply masked off an inch and a half strip of my panel, over mu umbrella and sponged on some Salty Ocean Distress Ink. I also took the ink pad directly to the paper and made a downward sweeping motion to give the effect of rain falling. While my masks were still on the panel, I used some Perfect Pearls water to apply some big droplets over the Distress Ink, let them sit for a few seconds and then blotted the with a paper towel. This just helped me to achieve a “water” look with the blue ink. I sat this aside to dry and started working on the scalloped and circle parts of the sketch.

My scalloped portion of my card was the cloud border die I used. I cut it out of the same watercolor cardstock, lightly sponged on some of the same Salty Ocean Distress Ink and gave it a light mist with the perfect pearls water to give it some shine. I also cut a circle (1 1/2″) from, again, the same watercolor paper, heavily applied Mustard Seed Distress Ink, lightly sprayed on the perfect pearls water and then, while it was still wet, I applied just a bit of Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink.

I let all of my different pieces dry (I may have gotten impatient and helped the process by using my heat tool), peeled off my masking, and then it was time to stamp my sentiment. I had put a lot of time and effort into this card so I pulled out my MISTI, just to give myself some reassurance. I stamped the “The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow” sentiment at the top of the cloud border panel in Versafine Ink.

****I want to add that my entire card is pretty much made of watercolor paper. As we all know, watercolor paper has texture to it and can be difficult to get a good impression on. That is why the majority of the time I’m stamping on it I use my MISTI. This was the second card I’ve used Two Paper Divas stamps on and both times/cards I’ve stamped on watercolor paper and used my MISTI, BUT NEVER NEEDED IT!!! All the stamps have stamped beautifully the first time (even my sentiment which has some fine detail)! AMAZING!!***

Now all of my components were complete, I just needed to get them all together. I started by using some double sided adhesive to adhere my “sun” partially behind the cloud border. I then used some fun foam along with double sided adhesive to adhere the cloud border along the top of the watercolor panel. I then just attached the whole panel to an A2 black, top folding card base.

Since the rest of my card has some shimmer, from the perfect pearls water. I decided my duck and umbrella did too. If I would have been thinking of it at the time, I probably would’ve used the perfect pearls water to watercolor it, however I didn’t so I just applied some Clear Wink of Stella over the top of both images. That finished the card and it’s now ready to be mailed!


 

 

Supply List


 

Dont’ forget to enter your card into the challenge for your chance to win one of two $20 gift cards being given away! You have two weeks to play along!

Thanks so much for looking and Happy Crafting!!

 

3 thoughts on “Using a Sketch to Design a Card — Introducing Two Paper Divas Monthly Challenge

Leave a Reply

