Valentine's Day · Video Tutorial

Creating Shapes from Small Stamps

One of my favorite things to do, when shopping for stamps, is to think of interesting and creative ways I could use that stamp set outside of it’s “intended” occasion. The Cozy Christmas set from Ellen Hutson has some great small heart stamps in it. I knew I could use those, stamp them repeatedly and create a large heart shape, perfect for a Valentine’s Day card. So many stamp sets have those teeny tiny, super small stamps included in them. Whether they are hearts, stars, dots, dashes, etc. They can all be used to create larger images. All you need to do is stamp them repeatedly to create larger shapes and focal points on your card! Using the small stamps in this way, instead of just as accents to your cards, really just stretches your stamps and dollars a bit further!


Here’s the video tutorial:


I love the Cozy Christmas set from Ellen Hutson for Christmas Cards. However, I don’t like to just let my “seasonal” or “occasional” stamp sets just sit throughout the rest of the year. Stamp sets are expensive and I like to really get the most bang for my buck so I try and find creative ways to use those seasonal sets throughout the entire year.

I’ve talked in previous blog posts about the rule I try and follow, which is, if a stamp set costs $10 I need to be able to use it at least ten times. This stamp set has really proven very versatile and been able to use it in a number of ways.

This card was made using the most basic of supplies, and can easily be replicated by using what you have on hand.

I first started this card by cutting a heart out of some typing paper. I just did this free hand with a pair of scissors. I then traced the heart lightly with pencil onto a white cardstock panel that measured 4″ x 5 1/4″. I then just started filling in the heart shape with the small heart stamps included in the stamp set. I started at the bottom and worked my way up, alternating ink colors as I went. I used Papertrey Ink’s colors in Autumn Rose, Ocean Tides, and Smokey Shadow. Once the heart was filled in, I carefully erased my pencil marks. And there I have used those small stamps to create a larger image and a focal point for my card.

I cut a banner from some white cardstock. Again, you can do this with scissors or you can use a die, like I did, if you have. I then stamped my sentiment “You Warm My Heart” onto the banner with the Smokey Shadow ink. To make my banner a bit more dimensional, I scored two lines on each end of the banner, about an 1/8″ apart. My fold closest to my sentiment I folded back and the next fold forward. This just created the look of a wrap around banner. I used some foam squares to pop the banner up in the center of the heart image.

When I had my Big Shot out I also cut small hearts out of coordinating Papertrey Ink Cardstock with the Home & Hearth Dies from Ellen Hutson. I used the three smallest dies and cut them each from the three colors of cardstock. I ended up with 9 hearts total, but didn’t use them all. I attached them randomly onto my heart with small bits of foam tape. I also gave them a bit of shimmer with  my Wink of Stella clear glitter brush pen.

To finish the card off I popped up the heart panel with some fun foam and double sided adhesive onto an A2 sized white top folding card base.


 

Supply List


 

Here are a few photos of the finished card


I hope you will give this technique a try and break out those small stamps to create some shapes and focal points on your cards!

Thank you so much for looking! Happy Crafting!!

 

One thought on “Creating Shapes from Small Stamps

Leave a Reply

