Easter Cards · Video Tutorial

Creating a Comic Strip Inspired Card

When I opened this brand new Two Paper Divas stamp set, I knew what had to be done. It was just asking to be turned into a “comic strip”.  I LOVE stamp sets that are put together so well and so versatile that their images can be used all together, or you can separate them and they still look fabulous! So today, I will be using the images in For Peep’s Sake (how cute is that name?) stamp set all together, but check back in, because I will be showing other ways to use this same set for a different look! I truly believe in looking at your stamp sets and thinking outside the box for new ways to use them. For example this card could easily be turned into a new baby card, just by switching up the sentiment. This stamp set would also be awesome for general spring card or a fun sentiment such as “You Crack Me Up” could turn this card into a friendship card. Yes, it is technically an Easter stamp set, but the many images in this set can be used in SO many different ways! Here is a look at the stamp set and all of the images in it!

12487110_10208552796603361_8731846660809019563_o


 

Here’s the video tutorial:

 


 

The best way to go about creating this comic strip inspired card is to do it factory line style. What I mean by that, is to get all of your cutting done at one time, all of your stamping done at the same time, then get all of your distress inking done, etc. This card is a little labor intensive and this just helps keep your mess at a minimum and also get your card done a little quicker.

So to start with I made my card base. It is an A2, white, top folding card base. I then stamped each of my stamps onto some masking paper and trimmed those out. I also trimmed out a black panel that measured 4 X 5 1/4 inches. I then needed to trim out some white rectangles that would be where I stamped my comic strip scenes. I needed five of them and here are the measurements.

  1. 1 1/2 x 2 inches
  2. 2 X 2 inches
  3. 2 x 2 1/4 inches
  4. 1 1/2 X 2 1/4 inches
  5. 3 3/4 X 3/4 inches

Once all my trimming was done, it was time to start stamping. All of my stamping was done with Versafine Onyx Black Ink. Just remember that this is a pigment ink and does take some time to dry, so just be careful to not smudge!  On the the first panel (number one above), I stamped the egg stamp. On panel 2 I stamped the bottom egg with no top. I then masked that off and inked up only the top half of the full egg stamp and stamped it on top of the bottom portion egg stamp, so it looked like the egg was cracking open. Panel number 3 was, again, made my stamping the bottom egg stamp, masking it off and stamping the “circle” stamp which is the chick’s head. I then stamped the chicks body, masked it off and stamped the circle again on panel 4. Panel 5 was my sentiment panel, so I used my MISTI to stamp the sentiment “Happy Easter to my Peeps”. I then went back to panel 4 and 5 and stamped on the face and hair to both chicks and also the legs on panel 4.

When all of my stamping was done, I started masking off each panel and, using a cloud border die, Salty Ocean Distress Ink and my mini ink blending tool, I sponged on some clouds. I achieved this effect by using the border die as a stencil and lightly sponging on the Salty Ocean Distress Ink. After one cloud was sponged on, I moved the border die down and kept sponging.

After each piece had the clouds blended on, I removed the masks and colored each image. I used colored pencils and Gamsol to blend. It was very simple coloring, however, colored pencils are one of my favorite coloring mediums.

So now is the part where you would die cut your grass from green cardstock, lightly blend on some mowed lawn distress ink, and start adhering each piece to your panels. Each panel had two pieces of grass with the back piece being adhered with Scor-Tape and the front piece popped up with some foam tape, except for the panel 4 which I only put on one piece of grass with foam tape. I did this so the little chicks legs wouldn’t be completely covered. I forgot to put my grass on before I adhered each panel, however, do as I say not as I do! LOL!

I went ahead and put Scor-Tape onto the back of each scene panels and then arranged them onto my black cardstock piece. After I had them placed where I wanted, I picked up each piece, one at a time, pulled off the backing paper of the adhesive and then placed it right back down in it’s place. This allowed me to get perfect spacing and placement of each piece.

I added a little sparkle to my card by putting on a layer of Wink of Stella in clear to the eggs and chicks of each panel.

To adhere my black comic panel to my card base I just used some fun foam and double sided adhesive to give it a little dimension!

That completed my comic strip inspired card!


Supply List

**The die I used, which is the Taylored Expressions Grass Border Die, is no longer available. The die linked above is VERY similar, it just has more dies in the set and is about the same price point.


 

I hope you will be inspired to create a comic strip card also! Thank you so much for looking! Happy Crafting!!!

4 thoughts on “Creating a Comic Strip Inspired Card

Leave a Reply

