Digital Images · Easter Cards · Video Tutorial

Digistamps4Joy Challenge 22 – Add an Animal

It’s the first of the month and you know what that means! It’s time for a new challenge from Digistamps4Joy! As you may know the challenge is always an anything goes challenge with a twist. This month’s twist is to add an animal and with Easter coming fast I thought what better animal to add than a bunny! I had a bit of a problem though, which was two absolutely adorable images to choose from, I guess that’s a pretty good problem to have! I ended up just making two separate cards for the challenge so I didn’t have to choose between the two. The two images I used on my cards were Bunny Knocks and Bunny’s Egg. If you want to make it even easier on yourself or are in a time crunch, you can also pick up both images already colored!

You can head on over to the Digistamps4Joy Blog  and add your card to the challenge to be eligible to win! There are two prizes up for grabs, a $10.00 Gift Certificate to the Digistamps4Joy shop and 2 free digis of your choosing from the shop! As always the challenge runs the entire month, so plenty of time to add your creations!!


 

Here’s a video tutorial to show you how I created my first card and how you can add some interest to your cards with negative space!


To create this first card I simply brought my png image into a 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ blank file in Photoshop Elements. I brought in the Bunny’s Egg png image and stretched it to be as tall as my panel. I put a black rectangle behind it, only to know what I wanted to cut off. Therefore, you aren’t going to see the black rectangle at all on the finished card. I then printed off my panel onto white cardstock, with crop marks, using my laser printer.

Once it  was printed I trimmed it down to size using the crop marks. Then, using my colored pencils. I colored the image and blended out with Gamsol. After my coloring was done, I started to cut away the black rectangle using my craft knife. I wanted to give this simple card some interest so I wanted to cut away some of the space around the bunny and tuck some paper behind it.

To finish my card off I adhered some glittered paper and colored acetate onto my card base and then popped up my bunny and egg panel using some fun foam and double sided adhesive.

**There is no supply list for this card as I didn’t use any special products other than the digital image, which is linked above.


 

Here are the photos


For my second card I used the Bunny Knocks digital stamp. I simply printed the image off, again with my laser jet printer, colored with colored pencils and gamsol and applied Glossy Accents to the windows, flowers, bunny’s tail, and the stepping stones. I put the panel onto an A2 cardbase and that finished the card!

Here are the photos:


So go and cut away some of that negative space to give your card some interest! Thanks so much for looking! Happy Crafting!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

