General Cards · Video Tutorial

Combining Stamp Sets

Today I have a video to share with you showing how I combine stamp sets to use on a card. This is one of the easiest and cheapest ways to stretch your stamps even further. Its also a great way to give stamps you’ve already used a completely different look. All you have to do is search through the stamp sets YOU ALREADY OWN and pick out a few that could run along the same theme. It doesn’t have to be the entire stamp set, as is the case with the card I made, but just ONE stamp. Below is the video showing how I combined three different stamp sets from three different companies to create one card.

ENJOY!



I started this card by using my first stamp set, Vanity Plates from MFT. I wanted to spell the word WORLD, so I pulled those letters, excluding the “O” which I will fill in later. I lined them up on a 2 X 5 1/2 inch using my MISTI and them stamped them in navy blue chalk ink. I then heat embossed those letters in clear.

To fill in the “O” in world I used the world stamp from the “Learning Curve” stamp set from The Alleyway Stamps. Again, using my MISTI, I stamped it in Versafine Onyx Black ink and then heat embossed in clear. I wanted to cut this out so I pulled a circle die from a nesting set and cut the world out with my die cut machine.

To color my world I used colored pencils and then blended it out with gamsol and a paper blending stump.

For the background on my card I wanted to add some stars. I didn’t have any patterned paper that I liked for the project, so I decided to make my own. To do that I took the “Out of This World” mini stamp set from Papertrey Ink and stuck the three tiny stars from the set onto an acrylic block. I then stamped them onto navy blue cardstock cut to 4 1/4 x 5 1/2 inches with Versamark Ink. I ten covered them with white embossing powder and heat set them.

While I had my Versamark and white embossing powder out I used those to stamp the top part of the “You’re out of this world” sentiment from the Learning Curve stamp set and stamped it onto a strip of black cardstock. Since I only wanted the sentiment to read “You’re out of this” on the black strip, I simply taped off the world portion, inked it up and then removed the tape.

Finally i t was time to put my card together. I started by attaching the navy blue star panel to an A2 top folding white card base with double sided adhesive. I then put the “wrld” white panel onto the lower third of the blue panel with fun foam and double sided adhesive. I wanted to give a bit of interest to this panel so I decided to attached the actual world directly to the blue panel through the die cut hole. You can make this in to a shaker card if you want, however, since this is probably going to go into my son’s lunch or backpack I didn’t want the possibility of it spilling everywhere at school.

To finish off my sentiment on the card I cut my black cardstock strip into a fish tail on the right side and attached it directly above the “World” panel using double sided adhesive.


Supply List


 


I hope you too will go through your stamp sets and pull out two, three, four, or more sets and combine them! Thanks so much for looking! Happy crafting!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Combining Stamp Sets

Leave a Reply

