General Cards · Video Tutorial

Adding Dimension to Sentiments Using Border Dies–Two Paper Diva’s Challenge

I made today’s card for the Two Paper Diva’s Tic Tac Toe Challenge. This was a new one for me as I had never done a challenge like this, but it was really a lot of fun! For those of you wondering the Two Paper Divas Challenge always starts on the second Monday of each month and runs for two weeks. The prize this month is a $20 gift card to the Two Paper Divas store. And as always, it’s not required to use Two Paper Divas stamps, but we love to see them!

12066003_10207574179605517_1791285777610027822_n

I also wanted to make a video of this card as a technique where you can take your border die cuts and add some dimension to your large sentiments stamps. This is such an easy technique, but add so much interest to your card!

Here’s the video!


 


I started this card by stamping the Be the Reason stamp set from Two Paper Divas onto four different colors of green cardstock that I pulled from my stash. The rectangles measured  4 1/2 X 3 1/4 inches. I stamped the sentiments onto each rectangle using my MISTI in Versafine Onyx Black Ink. Once I had each rectangle stamped with the sentiment I set them aside to dry while I worked on my card base.

For my card base I cut a black piece of cardstock in half so it measured 4 1/4 x 11 inches. I then scored down the middle at the 5 1/2 inch mark and folded it to create a A2 top folding card.

Once the card base was created I took a Swiss Dots embossing folder, lined it up on my base and ran it through my die cutting machine so it embossed the front of the card base.

It was the time to start cutting apart my sentiments. I taped two rectangles together with washi tape, making sure they were lined up perfectly. I then started using a landscape border die from Mama Elephant to cut the sentiments apart making sure it was lined up each time. I needed all of the pieces of each color of cardstock to be exactly the same as the next so I could piece them back together later. It did take a bit of time, but the end result it definitely worth it. I cut each rectangle into four pieces, so I really only made three cuts.

Once the cutting was done it was time to start piecing it back together. I picked a section of the sentiment from each color and attached foam to the back of two pieces that were not next to each other. I then started using double sided adhesive to attach the pieces in order on a scrap pieces of green cardstock. It was really like putting a puzzle together, which I love to do!

When I had my sentiment rectangle pieced back together I attached it to a piece of gold glitter cardstock that measured 3 3/4 X 4 1/2 inches. Onto the back of the gold glitter paper I attached a piece of fun foam, cut to slightly smaller, with double sided adhesive and then attached it to the black A2 top folding card base that I had embossed earlier.

And that completed the card! It was super easy and a simple design that I jazzed up a bit by using my border dies to add some dimension to my sentiment!



 

I really hope you’ll get out your border dies and try using them to add some dimension to your large sentiment stamps! It’s such a fun and easy way to add some interest to your card!

Thanks so much for looking! Happy Crafting!


Supply List

Two Paper Divas “Be the Reason” Stamp Set

2 thoughts on “Adding Dimension to Sentiments Using Border Dies–Two Paper Diva’s Challenge

Leave a Reply

