Easter Cards · Video Tutorial

Making Your Own Masks

I recently posted a card for the Two Paper Divas blog hop. If you haven’t went and checked out all of the design team’s card I HIGHLY suggest doing so. While I was creating this card I decided to record the process and make a video showing you how easy it is to design your own masks to create a scene. There are no special tools or dies required. Only a craft knife, you could also use scissors, a ruler or any straight edge, and a sheet of paper (I did use masking paper, however it NOT NECESSARY).

ENJOY!



To start off I stamped the Two Paper Divas “Wishing you a Happy Easter” sentiment stamp onto the middle of a 4″ X 5 1/2″ white cardstock panel. I stamped it in Versamark ink so I could then heat emboss this sentiment with white embossing powder.

Then, I needed to create my masks. I did this by simply using my ruler and drawing the shape on some masking paper. I made this a pretty simple process by making each line one inch and the bottom portion that’s longer two inches. After it was drawn onto my masking (you can also just use plain typing paper) I used my craft knife to carefully cut it out. I will be using both the negative and positive space so I wanted to make the cuts as clean as possible. In order to do that I used my craft knife and Tim Holtz ruler so I could get VERY clean cuts with VERY little cutting past the lines.

It was then time to start the ink blending. I started with my main focal point which was the cross. I put down the negative mask and centered it over the sentiment so it was right i the middle of the cross mask. I then used two distress inks in brown to sponge my cross. Once I had the color dark enough, I removed the negative mask and then put the positive cross mask over the cross that was sponged on. To create my hill I just cut a curve from some typing paper to e my mask. I then sponged on two colors of green ink. To create my sky, I covered the hill and blending on Mustard Seed, Spiced Marmalade, Picked Raspberry, Seedless Preserves, and Black Soot Distress Inks to create a sunrise effect.

When the ink blending was completed, I removed all the masks and attached the panel to an A2 white top folding card base. To set the panel apart from the card I put a thin strip of DCWV pink glitter paper along the left side.

That finished off the card and it is ready to go!


Supply List



 

I hope you too will try creating some masks of your own! Thanks so much for looking!! Happy Crafting!!

3 thoughts on “Making Your Own Masks

  1. Lindsay…Love this….beautiful Easter card but it sure would be a great idea for a sympathy card as well…using a different sentiment, of course. Love how you created your own mask to create the exact look you wanted! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

