Foiling · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Foiling Stamped Images

I don’t think it’s any secret that I LOVE to foil things, so when I got the sentiment stamp Be the Reason, from Two Paper Divas, I knww I wanted to try and foil it. I had only done foiling through stencils with Versamark and Embossing Powder, but I was anxious to try foiling with the fine lines of the sentiment, to see if it held it’s “shape” well enough to read. I was SO glad it worked! Now I will say that it did not give a perfect foiling finish.However, I did this on WATERCOLOR PAPER!!! To even get as good of a finish as I got is quite amazing. I am sure if you tried this on plain white cardstock it would be perfect.

I did record my process and made a video tutorial to share with you all! Enjoy!


 


I wanted to start by getting all of my die cutting out of the way for this card. I got out my die cutting machine and cut a four inch circle from watercolor paper and then, nesting the next smaller circle inside the four inch circle, I cut out a very thing frame from Rose Gold glitter paper.

With my die cutting done I could move on to the watercoloring portion of my card. I used a very cheap set, that I picked up at Michael’s, however the one from SSS is exactly the same thing just branded differently. I picked out a dark maroon color that would match cardstock I had picked out for my card already and did a very heavy, dark, messy wash over my four inch cardstock circle.

I set that aside to dry and moved on to my foiled background I wanted to create. I took a piece of maroon card stock, that measured 3 3/4 x 5 1/2 inches, and dusted it very generously with my embossing bag. I then took a circle dot mask from Stampin! Up (it’s just basically a stencil, but they refer to it as a mask) and tape my maroon paper onto the back. I applied Versamark ink through the mask with a mini ink blending tool and tried to get a very soft circle blended onto the paper. I removed the mask and applied clear fine detail embossing powder to the paper. I wasn’t happy with the harsh lines I was getting so I took a very soft, large paintbrush and tapped the embossing powder to create softer lines of embossing powder. I then heat set the dots very wells with my heat tool. I then ran the embossed dots background through my laminator with rose gold foil, let it cool and then removed the foil to reveal a “distressed” look of foiled dots on the background.

By the time I was finished foiling my background my watercolored circle was done drying and I could stamp my Be the Reason sentiment onto the middle of it. I first treated it generously with my embossing powder bag and then, using my MISTI and Versamark ink, I stamped the sentiment twice in the center of the circle. I then sprinkled on Ranger Clear Detail Embossing Powder and heat set it, making sure all the powder was thoroughly melted. After I was sure it was heat set I laid more rose gold foil over the top and ran it through my laminator in a carrier sheet. My next step is a “DO AT YOUR OWN RISK” kind of thing. I ran my watercolor circle and rose gold foil through my laminator without a carrier sheet. If you are scared of getting yours stuck don’t do it. I, on the other hand, have already gotten things stuck in mine, taken it apart and put it back together so I wasn’t too concerned.

Now that all of my pieces were ready I could start assembling my card. I applied my frame around the watercolor circle using glossy accents. I then put the framed sentiment onto the foiled dots background using fun foam and double sided adhesive. Finally, I attached the entire panel to an A2 top folding, white card base.



 

I really hope that you will try foiling your stamps. And don’t forget you can also use the same technique with your stencils too! Make sure to check out the supply list below! Thanks so much for looking!! Happy Crafting!


Supply List

Be the Reason Stamp – Two Paper Divas


 

5 thoughts on “Foiling Stamped Images

  1. Beautiful, Lindsay. It is so fun for me to see things we did 15+ years ago are coming back around as new! I need to dig through my stuff to see if I still have my foil “stuff”. Very fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

