Thank You Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

No Line Watercoloring a Scene

A little disclosure first **This is my second attempt at no line watercoloring**. I will have a video and blog post at a later date of my first attempt and I will share with you all the things I learned and some tips I have for the first attempt. But today I have a video for you showing the process of making this card. I hope you enjoy the video as much as I enjoyed making this card!

Here is the video!



To be able to do the no line watercolor technique I needed to stamp my scene in a water-soluble ink. I chose my lightest color fo distress ink, antique linen, for this. I used the “Branching Out” stamp set from Two Paper Divas and my MISTI to stamp my scene onto a piece of watercolor paper that measured 3 3/4 X 5 1/2 inches.

**Your stamping does not have to be perfect for this because all of your lines will disappear!!**

Blog Post 4

When my scene was stamped I started to watercolor. I used my distress inks for all of the watercoloring on this card. The best advice I can give for this process is to take your time. This technique CAN’T be done quickly and is best done in layers.

With my watercoloring done I decided to take a chance and ran my panel through my die cutting machine with a border die from the Lawn Fawn “Stitched Borders” collection. I ran it through twice to add faux stitching to both the top and bottom of the panel.

Blog Post 2

I LOVE the sentiment “Thanks for going out on a limb” that is included in this stamp set! It is such a unique and fun phrase that fits this set perfectly! I stamped it, using my MISTI and Versamark ink, along the bottom right of a 4 1/4 X 5 1/2 inch panel of mustard cardstock that I had treated with my embossing bag. I then sprinkled on some white embossing powder and heat set it.

Blog Post 1

To assemble this card I attached the watercolor panel to the mustard panel using double sided adhesive. I placed the mustard panel, again using double sided adhesive, onto a white A2 side folding card base. I wanted the focus to be on the watercolor panel, so I decided to keep the card pretty CAS and didn’t add any embellishments.

Blog Post 3



I really hope this has inspired your to give the no line watercolor technique a try. In my opinion the finished result is really worth the time and effort! Don’t forget to check out the supply list below! Thanks so much for looking!! Happy crafting!



 

8 thoughts on “No Line Watercoloring a Scene

Leave a Reply

