Foiling · Video Tutorial

Let’s Make a Card #4

Another addition to my Let’s Make a Card video series, this card was really one big experiement that I recorded! I am glad it worked out though! In this Let’s Make a Card video I use my stencils to dry emboss, Gold foil with my stencils and so much more! You can check out the video below!



I started this card by using a snow fall stencil to emboss a piece of white cardstock that measured 4 x 5 1/4 inches. In order to emboss with a stencil you need to run it through your die cutting machine, like you would a wafer thin die, but with a sheet of fun foam on top and below the stencil. Then sandwhich that between your cutting plates and that should apply enough pressure to give a very subtle embossed look.

While I had my die cutting machine out I also cut balloons from a Simon Says Stamp die set. I cut the largest from vellum, the medium size from black card stock, and the heart shape from gold glitter paper. I also die cut a Happy Birthday sentiment from black cardstock.

 

Once I had my die cutting done, I moved on to foiling. In order to acheive the ofiling with stencils I first smooshed my Versamark ink pad through my snow fall stencils. After removing the stencil I applied Ranger Super Fine Detail Clear embossing powder over the Versamark ink and removed the excess. I could then heat set the powder and ran the embossed panel through my laminator with gold foil. Once it had cooled I removed the foil and has a gold foil confetti background.

BalloonsFinishedCard2

I did the same process on my black balloon with a Kelly Purkey stencil and using the same foil I had used on my confetti background. I smooshed my ink pad through the stencil, applied embossing powder, heat set and then ran it through my lamintor.

 

After I had my foiling complete I tied some black and white baker’s twine onto the end of each balloon and put a dab of glossy accents to hold the knot in place. I set an acrylic block on top of the knots and while I let the dry I moved onto  my die cut sentiment. For that I used glossy accents to apply tiny little dots on the back of the die cut and then adhered both pieces to the bottom of the confetti panel.

When I knew that the knots I had made on the end of my balloons were good and dry and wouldn’t move at all I figured out the layout I wanted them to be in and started attaching them to one another with double sided adhesive. I then made a knot with all three strings to make it look like they were a “bunch” of balloons. I trimmed the end of the strings down to make the somewhat equal and then started adhering the balloon bunch into the upper hand left corner. Once my balloons were down I  adhered the strings the way I wanted them with a bit of glossy accents.

To finish off my card I simply applied my confetti panel onto an A2 white, top folding card base with double sided adhesive and fun foam.

BalloonsFinishedCard1



I hope you this will inspire you to get out your supplies and make a card yourself! Dont’ forget to check out the supply list below! Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!

One thought on “Let’s Make a Card #4

Leave a Reply

