Thank You Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Let’s Make a Card #5

I am back with another addition to my “Let’s Make a Card” series. This is an ongoing series where the object is to really just inspire you to pull out all those supplies and start creating! I mean, what good are our supplies if we don’t use them? I have to admit I was one of those people. I loved to just collect all of the things needed to make cards, but I never put them to use. I’d shop, bring it home or wait for it to show up in my mailbox, “ooh and aww” over it all, maybe play with a few things and then organize it all. I rarely ever produced a completed card, unless it was a last minute thing. So I hope you find some inspiration in this video and start crafting with all of your own supplies!

Here’s the  video that I’ve created. ENJOY!


 


 

I first used my MISTI to stamp the brand new Two Paper Divas stamp “Hello Spring” onto a piece of watercolor paper that measured 5 1/2″ x 2 1/2″. The watercolor paper was pretreated with my embossing bag. I also stamped the “Thanks a Bunch” sentiment, from the set Banners #3 directly underneath. I stamped both in Versamark ink so I could heat emboss in clear with superfine detail clear embossing powder from Ranger.

BlogPost1

With my heat embossing done I could move on to water coloring the image. I wanted a loose and soft look, which is surprisingly hard to do (especially when you have control issues). I really relied on the emboss resist technique to help me achieve the this loose look. It also helped my sentiment really pop and stand out when I used the same emboss resist technique and applied dark brown watercolor over the sentiment.

When I was happy with my watercolor I set my panel aside to dry and moved on to die cutting. I used an old Stampin’ Up! die called Large Scallops to die cut the edge of a 5 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ piece of kraft cardstock. I then dry embossed a lace pattern with a coordinating embossing folder to make my cardstock look like lace ribbon without the added bulk.

BLOGPOST3

This die and embossing folder is no longer available. I have listed an alternative to the die below, however you can always add actual lace to achieve the same look.

It was time to assemble my card so I attached a piece of patterned paper, measuring 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″, to the front of an A2 white top folding card base. I attached my “lace” panel onto the card front, lining up my straight edges on the left. Finally, I attached my water color panel, again lining up the straight edges on the left hand side, with fun foam and double sided adhesive. **I used double sided tape adhesive to attach all of my panels**

I added just a bit of bling to finish this card off. I attached some gold sequins using my quiksticks tool and glossy accents. That finished off my card.

BLOGPOST2


I hope I have inspired you to pull out your supplies and make a card yourself! That is, after all, why we have all of our “stuff”! And on the topic of “stuff”, if you are interested in any of the products I used on this card, you can check out the supply list below.

Thanks for looking! Happy crafting!!


Two Paper Divas – Hello Spring Stamp Set

3 thoughts on “Let’s Make a Card #5

Leave a Reply

