Coloring · Video Tutorial

Creating a Quick Birthday Card Set

I don’t know about you all, but birthday cards ate probably the most common card I send out, aside from thank yous. On top of all the family and friends birthdays, my son is now attending class parties. In order to stay ahead on birthday cards and have a nice little stash built up, I decided to make a quick set of birthday cards for kids. When I say quick I mean this set of four cards took only 45 minutes from start to finish!! I made a quick video to show you how I did it! ENJOY!

**Update** Before I even was able to edit and post this video tutorial my son had a last minute birthday party to attend! Guess what “prepared” Mom had a card ready to go? (I wish I was this prepared/organized for everything else!) He picked out the card with the worm and stamped in a “Happy birthday friend” sentiment on the inside. He signed it and all that was left to do was pop in some money/gift card and he was good to go!

Here’s the video:



I started these card by stamping images from Paper Smooches “Birthday Buddies” stamp set onto a piece of white cardstock. I used my MISTI and Memento Tuxedo Black Ink. With my images stamped it was time for coloring. I used colored pencils on each image and blended them with Gamsol and Paper Blending Stumps.

To create the background scenes on each panel I masked off each colored image and started ink blending on the grassy hill and clouds. I used “masks” I had created from die cutting typing paper with Mama Elephant’s Landscape Trio die set, Mowed Lawn and Salty Ocean Distress Inks, and a mini ink blending tool.

BlogPost2

What I love about the “Birthday Buddies” set is that each image has a coordinating sentiment. So you could possibly use this stamp set five years in a row for the same person and never use the same image or sentiment!! AMAZING!! I stamped each image’s coordinating sentiment in Versafine Onyx Black Ink. I chose my placement on each panel by where it would fit. It was a very scientiic process LOL!

Now these were pretty plain cards so I chose to jazz up the card bases by dry embossing them. I chose four different embossing folders from my stash and ran them through my die cutting machine.

It was then time to start putting the cards together. I chose to mat my scene panels onto a colored cardstoc panel that was cut slightly larger. I coordinated the colors with the color of each little critter’s hat. I then popped up my matted scene with some fun foam and mounted them onto the card base.

To add a little more fun to the cards I covered each critter in Wink of Stella and added a layer of glossy accents to their eyes and hats. If I would have thought of it, I would’ve added google eyes, because what kid doesn’t love google eyes? But that will have to wait until next time!!

BlogPost1

I am so excited to have a nice little stash of birthday cards built up! I hope this inspires you to create a set of cards, either for yourself or to give as a gift!

If you’re interested in any of the products I used this set of cards, you can check out the supply list below! Thanks so much for looking! Happy Crafting!!


Leave a Reply

