Digital Images · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Simply a Card #1- Digistamps4Joy New Release

Today is the brand new release  over at Digistamps4Joy and it is a great one! I chose to use the brand new “Clivia” image for this release. There are quite a few flower images, which I absolutely love, in this release. The great things about flowers are ALL of the possibilities! You can color them a different color each time you use them and SO many techniques can be used to make then unique each time!

To show you how I made this card I’m sharing a video with you today! This is a brand new video series that I will be trying out. I LOVE creating videos and really want to start doing more than just two a week. I have found that the hardest part of a video to get done, for me, is the voice over. I have two children under ten and my house is quite loud pretty much the majority of the time. Finding quiet time, where I am not completely exhausted is quite a task! So my solution is a video series where there is no talking, just music while I make a card. These will be pretty easy cards, with no difficult techniques that need explanations, but will hopefully give you some inspiration!

Here’s the first video! ENJOY!!



This card started in Photoshop Elements. I opened a New blank file that measured 5 1/2″ X 5 1/2″ and brought in the Clivia PNG. I turned and enlarged the image so it was placed in the lower right hand corner. Then, I used my shape tool to draw a black circle frame behind the Clivia. It was then time to print! I used my Brother Laser Printer to print this image off onto watercolor paper, making sure there were crop marks.

To make sure that my toner was well set and not going to smear when I watercolored this image, I ran it through my laminator, by itself, just to add some extra heat and really set the toner. I used my crop marks to trim out my panel and then it was time to watercolor!

blogpost3

I used only 3 distress markers to color the image! I chose Barn Door and Mustard Seed to color the petals of the flowers. I simply colored on some red at the tip of the petals and yellow at the base. I used my watercolor brush and water to blend the two colors together. On some petals I wanted a bit more intense red. In order to achieve the intensity I wanted I scribbled some color onto a pallete and picked the color up with my brush. For the center of the flowers I brought in some Vintage photo. I used the brush end of the marker and “flicked” out some color from the center of the flowers. Also, I added a few dots to the center most portions of the flowers using a white Gelly Roll pen.

When the coloring was done and dry, I used my exacto knife and scissors to fussy cut the center of the frame I had created. I used a Black Soot Distress Marker to brush the cut edges and make them look more finished. I also used a Micron Pen in black to go over the black frame and really intensify the black color.

I made a card base measuring 6″ X 6″ out of the same watercolor paper and put down a light wash of Salty Ocean where the cut out of the frame would be. I stamped “thanks so much” from the Avery Elle “Peony” stamp set in black dye ink and then attached my watercolored panel over the watercolor wash and stamping using fun foam and double sided adhesive. I didn’t add anything more to this card to really keep the focus on the coloring and the gorgeous “Clivia” image.

blogpost1


Don’t forget to head on over to the Digistamps4Joy Blog and check out all of the other awesome projects and inspiration the design team has for the new release. And if you want to head over to the Digistamps4Joy Shop you can check out and purchase the new images from the new release. You can also see all the supplies that I used down below!!

Thanks so much for looking and happy crafting!!

Clivia Digital Stamp – DS4J

Brother HL-L2320D Black & White Laser Printer

One thought on “Simply a Card #1- Digistamps4Joy New Release

Leave a Reply

