Get Well Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Watercolor With Pencils

I know it seems like all I ever do anymore is WATERCOLOR!! I promise to change it up at some point, but to be honest, I just really love it! With that being said, this is a bit different as I watercolored with a brand new to me medium, watercolor pencils. I have to say I really loved using these pencils. It was the best of both worlds as I truly love my colored pencils, but am really starting to love watercolor also. This medium was really simple to learn and use. I have a video showing you how I used the watercolor pencils to color a scene. I also show you how I added just a few little “drawings” to kick up the scene a notch!

Enjoy the video!



I started with a piece of watercolor paper that measured 3 3/4″ X 5 1/2″ and stamped and masked a garden scene using the Seeds of Hope stamp set from Two Paper Divas. I used Inkadinkado masking paper for this, however post it tape or notes would work just as well! (This stamp set is also available as a digital stamp set if that’s your thing! You can find it HERE!!) I want to say it took FOUR tries for me to get this scene right. The majority of times I do have to start over about one time, however, I could not get it together for this card!

When I finally managed to get my stamping correct I brought out my Micron pen, because it is waterproof, and drew in a few “dirt” piles. I am by no means a great artist and anyone could draw in these simple shapes. These little piles that I drew just give my scene a more realistic look and set it apart from the traditional stamped scene. You can add as many or as few as you like and that is the beauty of adding your own little touches. It can take your card up a notch and makes it different everytime!

BLOGPOST4.jpg

Once my scene was done I started coloring in my scene with the watercolor pencils. I didn’t add any water at first and kept the pencils dry. I colored in the entire scene this way and then came in with a brush and water. One of the great benefits I found while working with these pencils is that to add in more depth/layers of color you don’t have to wait for it to dry. You can go in to the wet paper and add more color directly from your pencil, take a brush to the lead in the pencil and pick up color, or dip your lead in water and wet your lead for an even richer color. They are so versatile and fun to play around with. I also found that they blend fairly well and I was using a very cheap set! Also, they did not have a chalky feel the way most cheap sets of watercolor paints do.

BLOGPOST2

**I used the Artist Loft brand from Michaels. When trying a new medium I like to buy small and cheap to see if I even enjoy using it. If I do, I can always add more and a more expensive/higher quality product. The majority of the time you can then incorporate two different sets of mediums together and continue to use them both!**

I set my panel aside to dry once I had all of my coloring, blending, and shading done and brought out my die cutting machine to add some faux stitching to a piece of light purple cardstock that measured 4″ X 5 1/2″. I used the “Stitched Borders” die collection from Lawn Fawn to add some faux stitching along the very top and bottom edges of the light purple cardstock.

BLOGPOST3

For my sentiment I used the “Banners #3” stamp set from Two Paper Divas and stamped “Praying for You” on a strip of vellum with SSS black dye ink. I wrapped my vellum strip around my watercolor and attached the it along the black with double sided adhesive. This way I didn’t have to worry about any of my adhesive showing through.

Finally, I put all of my layers together. I attached my purple cardstock to an A2 side folding card base that I made from white cardstock. Then, I popped up my watercolor panel on the purple cardstock with fun foam and double sided adhesive.

BLOGPOST1


I really hope you to will give watercoloring with watercolor pencils a try. It is such a fun, easy and versatile medium to work with! If you want to check out any of the supplies I used on this card you can see the supply list below! Thanks so much for looking and happy crafting!

Seeds of Hope – Two Paper Divas (Stamp Set)

Artist Loft Watercolor Pencils

9 thoughts on “Watercolor With Pencils

Leave a Reply

