Digital Images · Hello Cards · Video Tutorial

Digistamps4Joy Challenge 124- Add Ribbon

It is a new month (I can’t believe it’s already MAY!!) and that means it’s time for a new challenge over at Digistamps4Joy. As always the theme is anything goes with an optional twist that you can choose if you want to  include or not. This month’s twist is adding ribbon which is such an easy twist! I have a video for you today, showing how I created my card for this challange, however there is no voice over this time only music. I have been super busy this week finishing up landscaping and simply ran out of time to do a voiceover so I am sorry about that!

Here’s the video!



I started with the digital stamp “Colour Maze” from the Digistamps4Joy Shop. I brought it in a Photoshop Elements and resized it to 4 1/4″ X 5 1/2″. I used my laser printer to print off the project onto white card stock and very loosely trimmed it to a more manageable size with my paper trimmer.

Then, using my mini ink blending tool, I sponged on Picked Raspberry and Evergreen Bough distress ink making sure to overlap them and create a purple color in the middle. I used a large circle die (3 inches) to cut a circle from the digital stamp and also used the same circle die to cut a circle from the bottom right corner of a white card stock rectangle that measured  4″ X 5 1/4″.

While I had my die cut machine out I also cut 6 black “Hello” die cuts using a die from Papertrey Ink. I glued all of these dies together, one on top of the other, with glossy accents to create one very thick die cut.

After gluing a piece of thin computer paper behind my circle cut on the white cardstock I glued in the digital stamp circle into the open spot. I put the panel back into my die cut machine and lined up the “hello” die so it was halfway between the digital stamp and the white background and ran it through my machine. To be able to inlay the black die cut I first had to adhere more computer paper behind the open “Hello” and then I could use glossy accents to inlay the thick black “Hello” die cut.

blogpostpic3

So the optional twist to the challenge was to add ribbon so I chose some black and white baker’s twine to use on my card. I used three strands and placed them to the left of left of the Hello. I used some taped them down on the backside of the panel and then used a fourth strand of the twine to tie around the first three and created a bow.

To finish off the card I popped up the panel with fun foam and double sided adhesive on an A2 side folding white card base. I also put down a scattering of clear sequins, adhering them with glossy accents and using my Quickstiks tool, to make the process a bit easier.

blogpostpic4


If you want to enter a card of yours into this month’s challenge you can head HERE. As always there is a $10 gift voucher for the store up for grabs and also one randomly chosen winner will get their choice of two free digital images from the store! While you’re at the blog you can also check out the new release today! Or you can head over to the Digistamps4Joy Shop and scroll to the bottom of the page for all of the new release images.

Thanks so much for looking and happy crafting!!


Digistamps4Joy “Colour Maze” Digital Stamp

Brother Black and White Laser Printer

Papertrey Ink “Wonderful Words-Hello Die”

Leave a Reply

