Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Spotlight Stamping

I am quite the fan of using your stamps ALOT. What I mean by that, is not just taking a set you have and using it one time, but keep using it over and over and over again. I see no point in buying a set and letting it sit or using a few times and then retiring it. With that in mind I pulled out the “Make a Wish” set from Two Paper Divas (which I’ve used before) and using a new technique with it, created an entirely different card! If you want to check out the other card/technique I made/used with this set you can head Here to Stretch Your Stamps (Literally)!

Here’s the video for today featuring the technique Spotlight Stamping. ENJOY!!



I started this card by stamping the candle stamp onto a piece of 2 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ watercolor paper. I stamped these images in Versafine Onyx Black Ink and heat embossed each one with clear detail embossing powder. I made sure to first prep my card stock with my embossing bag to reduce on stray powders.

twotoneblogpost1

**So for my next step I used my MISTI, however, YOU DO NOT NEED TO! It made it a little easier for me, but you can by all means look through these clear stamps and line up very well.**

Using my MISTI, I put in first a piece of black card stock that measured 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ and then put my watercolor stamped panel on top of the black card stock. Keep in mind that you want to put down your watercolor paper exactly where you want it to end up on your card front. Once you stamp, there’s no going back! Then, looking through my stamp I lined up the stamp with one that was already stamped on my watercolor paper and “disappeared over the edge of the paper”. I closed my lid on my MISTI and picked up the stamped, carefully removed the watercolor paper and inked up the stamp with Versamark Ink. I stamped this down onto my black card stock and then heat embossed with white embossing powder.

twotoneblogpost2

I repeated this process until all of the unfinished stamped images that “hung off the edge” of the watercolor paper were completed on the black card stock. Then I just filled in the rest of the black card stock with stamping. When you line up your watercolor paper on your black card stock all of your stamping should line up giving it a “spotlight” effect.

Moving on I knew I wanted to give my white paper some color so I very loosely and quickly watercolored the candles with Distress Ink. I kept the colors more masculine as I thought this would make a great male birthday card.

twotoneblogpost3.jpg

As usual I thought about the sentiment last LOL! I REALLY need to stop doing that! In order to cover up the least amount of the stamped panels I created a file folder tab to stamp my sentiment on. I didn’t have a die that would cut one for me so I just used my paper trimmer, scissors and ruler to create my own. I then stamped the “Make a Wish!” sentiment in Versamark Ink and heat embossed with white embossing powder.

To put this card together I first attached the black panel to an A2 white side folding card base using double sided adhesive. I then attached the file folder sentiment to the left side of the watercolor panel, again, using double sided adhesive. Finally, it was time to add the watercolor panel to the card. I used fun foam an double sided adhesive to give the card a bit more interest and dimension, making sure to carefully align the panel with the stamping on the black card stock. I kept this card pretty clean and simple for a more masculine feel!

twotoneblogpost4



I really hope you’ll pull out one of your stamp sets and give this spotlight stamping technique a try. It is a bit of work, but completely worth the effort! If you want to check out any of the supplies I’ve used on this card, they are all linked below!

Thanks so much for looking!! Happy crafting!!


“Make a Wish” – Two Paper Divas

4 thoughts on “Spotlight Stamping

Leave a Reply

