Digital Images · Get Well Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Drawing a Scene

So it is time for another challenge over at Digistamps4Joy. As always this month’s challenge is anything goes with an OPTIONAL twist of adding a fairy. There are quite a few fairy images in the shop and as I was looking through them, I fell in love with the Pondering Fairy. In this image, it looks as though she is sitting in a tree and I really wanted to have a little forest scene around her. The only problem with that being, I don’t have a drawing tablet for my computer. So in order to complete my idea I needed to hand draw a scene once I had printed off my image.

You DO NOT need to be an artist to add some detail drawing, because of the simple fact, the fairy is your main focal image and everything around and behind her is not. To show you a little more about how I went about creating this card I made a video tutorial for you all!

ENJOY!



As always with my digital stamps this card started in Photoshop. I opened a new project and made the dimensions 4 1/4 x 5 1/2. I then placed the “Pondering Fairy” digital stamp from Digistamps4Joy  on the right hand side of the panel and enlarged it quite a bit. When I was pretty happy with the size and placement of the stamp on my panel, I went ahead and printed with my laser printer (linked below) making sure I printed with crop marks onto watercolor paper. **Make sure your printer can handle watercolor paper before you do this**

I have had great success watercoloring with my laser printer images, however, since I was drawing in a scene, I wanted all of my lineage to be the same black intensity and also have the same width. You could skip the next step if this doesn’t bother you, however, I think it really looks quite a bit better to take the extra time! With that being said I used a Micron Pen to outline my entire digital stamp that I had printed. I just quickly traced over all of the lines.

**You can also use a fine point Sharpie if you don’t have a Micron Pen. Really any fine line waterproof pen will work.**

pic1

When I had all of my lines traced, using a pencil, I sketched in some trees, bushes and a lane to create a sort of forest. The best advice I can give is to just go for it! Remember after all it is just paper, and using a pencil, you can always erase. If you have no idea where to start you can google an image and go from there. Your drawing does not have to be perfect, mine certainly isn’t, and you don’t have to be an artist, I’m most certainly not. You just need to give the impression of a tree or a bush and the eyes will see it. Also remember your main focal point should be your printed digital stamp, in my case the fairy, so everything else is just a background. If you need a bit more advice, watch the video above (You can slow it down to copy my exact strokes).

Once you are happy with your sketch trace over your pencils lines with your waterproof pen. Then it’s time to watercolor. I used my Distress Inks and mixed some custom colors to create some variation in the greens, since there were so many green objects. I also worked in layers to create some depth and added some texture with spotty strokes. Again, just practice with your watercolor and have fun!

I needed a sentiment on my card. I’ve found that if I put a card in my stash without a sentiment, it will sit and go unused because the majority of the time, I just do not have the time to quickly find a sentiment that works, pull it out and mount it onto a block, grab my ink out, ink it, stamp it down, clean it off and put everything away. With that in mind I grabbed out my Avery Elle “Peony” stamp set, put together a sentiment that read “Sending Heartfelt Love” and using my Misti, double stamped it onto an 1″ wide strip of vellum using SSS Black Dye Ink, making sure to zap it with my heat tool.

I wrapped my vellum strip around my watercolor panel and attached it to the back of the panel so all of the adhesive was hidden. I finished this card off by attaching the panel to an A2 card base. Since my watercolor panel was cut to 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ it filled the entire card front.

pic2


I hope I have encouraged you to try some hand drawn scenes on your cards. It really is quite simple and such a fun technique to try. Each card becomes unique and always a bit different from the last!

If you want to enter one of your cards into the Digistamps4Joy Challenge you can head HERE. You have until the end of this month to enter and be eligible for a $10 Gift Card to the Shop or two free images of your choice from the shop!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used today, they’re all listed below for your convenience! Thanks so much for stopping by and looking! Happy Crafting!!


Pondering Fairy Digital Stamp – Digistamps4Joy
Brother HL-L2320D Black & White Laser Printer

2 thoughts on “Drawing a Scene

Leave a Reply

