General Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

One Card Design, Two Occasions

With card making I am always trying to come up with new layouts and designs to put my cards together. It gets tough, so when I can switch up some colors and sentiments on my card front and use the exact same layout and design for two different occasions it really helps to get more cards into my stash in less time. Today I have two different cards for you in which I used the same supplies, I only switched up some colors, and used the exact same layout to create a birthday and wedding card.

Here’s the video to show you how I did it!



I started with two watercolor panels, measuring 4″ x 5 1/4″, and using my MISTI I stamped down the new “Fancy Cake” stamp from Two Paper Divas into the bottom right hand corner on both panels. One panel I stamped the image with Versamark and heat embossed with super fine detail gold embossing powder, and the other was stamped with Versafine Onyx Black Ink and heat embossed with super fine detail clear embossing powder. Both powders were from Ranger and I also prepped both cardstock panels with my embossing bag.

I also stamped sentiments into the bottom layer of each cake, with the coordinating ink. Both sentiments were from the “Banners #3” set from Two Paper Divas. I curved the sentiments slightly so they fit the curve of the cake. That is just an added bonus of clear/acrylic stamps! With Versamark and gold embossing powder, the sentiment read “Mr. & Mrs.”, with Verafine and clear embossing powder the sentiment read “Celebrate”.

picicture4

With both images stamped and heat embossed I moved onto watercoloring them. I used distress inks and wanting to keep my supply list limited, I only used Antique Linen on the wedding cake and Antique Linen, Picked Raspberry, and Seedless Preserves on the birthday cake. I also used some gold Perfect Pearls water to wet my inks and watercolor with. This just adds a little shimmer and shine to my watercolor.

When each image was dry I applied a mask, made with masking paper, and sponged on a bit of Evergreen Bough Distress Ink to give a light blue halo around each image. I then flicked on some water mixed with Vintage Photo Distress Ink, let it sit for a minute and then blotted up the remainder of water. I also mixed some gold Perfect Pearls with VERY little water, so it was nice and thick and flicked that onto my watercolor panels as well.

picture2

I wanted to add a bit more interest to my overly simple card design, so using a circle die, I cut out the cake, or my main focal image. While I had my die cutting machine out I also cut some white fun foam with a smaller circle die, just to make it a bit more simple to pop up my die cut circle.

It was time to start putting together my cards. I started with two white A2 top folding card bases and attached a piece of 4 1/8″ x 5 3/8″ cardstock using double sided adhesive, one color being Stampin’ Up’s Rich Razzleberry and the other being a gold from my stash. (I have linked an alternative below) I then put down the waterolor panels with the same double sided adhesive and then using fun foam and double sided adhesive, attached the die cut circle back into place.

I finished off these cards by layering up some gold and moonshine sequins from Simon Says Stamp. I applied them with my Quickstik tool and Alene’s Quick Dry Tacky glue.

picture3


I hope this has inspired you to use the same design or layout on several cards for different occasions! It really does help build up your stash of cards or just save time when you need several cards for different occasions all at once!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on the cards today, they’re all linked below for your convenience! Thanks so much for stopping by and looking! Happy Crafting!!


Fancy Cake Stamp Set – Two Paper Divas

Banners #3 Stamp Set – Two Paper Divas

Stampin’ Up Rich Razzleberry Cardstock

4 thoughts on “One Card Design, Two Occasions

Leave a Reply

