Digital Images · Thank You Cards · Video Tutorial

Masking Digital Stamps

It is time for another new release from Digistamps4Joy today! There are five new images being released today and I chose to use the brand new “Little Black Dress” digital stamp today. Along with today’s card showcasing this new stamp I also have a video for you showing how I masked the digital stamp I used today. Of course this technique could be transferred to any digi you may be using and uses items you probably already have on hand!

Here’s today’s video! ENJOY!!



This card, along with all others involving digital stamps, started in Photoshop Elements with a 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ canvas size. I brought in and placed the “Little Black Dress” digital stamp onto my canvas and moved it to the left hand side of the paper. When I was happy with my placement I flattened my project and then printed with crop lines onto white card stock using my laser printer. I also printed the exact same project onto regular computer paper.

I first trimmed down my card stock panel to be 3 1/4″ x 4 3/4″, making sure my digi was still on the left hand side and centered from top to bottom. Then, with very sharp fine detail scissors I cut out the digital stamp on the regular computer paper to create a mask. In order to make this mask “stick” I used rubber cement. I flipped the mask over and placed it on some scrap paper and smeared a very thin layer of the rubber cement onto the back of the mask. While the glue was still wet I applied the mask over the digital stamp on the card stock and then set it aside to dry for just a few minutes. It really didn’t take any longer than that.

picture 4

With my mask dry and not sliding around I attached my card panel to a stencil and using my mini ink blending tool and black soot distress ink, I sponged over the stencil very lightly. I didn’t want to cover the entire panel with the stencil and ink, I really wanted to fade off into white at the edges. In order to achieve that effect, I really had to start very lightly and build up the color. I always have to tell myself that I can keep adding color, but I can’t take any away.

Once I was happy with the way my ink blending was looking, I was able to remove the stencil and then very carefully pull up my mask. Since rubber cement is not a permanent glue it is really quite easy to pull this image up and then using my finger rub away any extra residue or glue that is left on my panel.

The image I used today is called “Little Black Dress”, however, I wanted to have her wearing a little red dress! I brought out my Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers and colored in my digi using a few tones on each section to add some shading. When I was finished with the coloring I added a few layers of Wink of Stella over her dress. You can see how much shine and life it really brought to the dress!

picture 3

I matted my colored panel onto a piece of black card stock with double sided adhesive and before adhering it to my card base, I added the sentiment “Thanks Gorgeous” with black ink directly to the right of her legs. This sentiment was made with two stamps from the Avery Elle “Peony” stamp set.

Putting my card together was really very simply. I first adhered a piece of gold glitter card stock to an A2 top folding, red card base. I adhered it so it was angled and then trimmed off the ends that were hanging off the card base. I then popped up my colored panel that was matted on the black card stock with some fun foam and double sided adheisve. To finish the card off I added three gold sequins in a bit of triangle around the sentiment using glossy accents and my Quickstik tool.

picture 1


I hope this has given you a new idea on how to mask your digital stamps! I know I struggled with it for a long time! I think this way is really going to be a lot more cost and time efficient in the long run for me.

If you are interested in any of the supplies I used they’re all linked below for your convenience! And if you haven’t yet, be sure to head on over the Digistamps4Joy shop to check out the new digital stamps that are in the store!

One last thing, there is still time to enter one of your cards into the challenge at Digistamps4Joy Blog. You can link up HERE and have the chance to win one of two prizes!!

Thanks so much for stopping by and looking!!! Happy crafting!!


Little Black Dress Digital Stamp – Digistamps4Joy
Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers
Brother HL-2320D Black and White Laser Printer

Leave a Reply

