General Cards · Video Tutorial

Coloring on Kraft with Alcohol Markers

Coloring on Kraft cardstock is a really great way to add a bit more interest and texture to your cards. It is such a unique, fun, and unexpected way to mix things up. This technique  also gives some great color variations if you ever feel like your cards are all just starting to look a little bit similar.

Here’s the video to show you how I went about doing this technique and also a few tips I learned along the way!

ENJOY!!



This card started with a piece of Kraft cardstock that measured 4″ X  5 1/4″. I put this card stock into my MISTI and stamped and masked a peony bouquet in a base. I used the Avery Elle stamp set “Peonies” and Memento Tuxedo Black Ink. With my bouquet done, I used a t-square ruler and a micron pen to draw in a “horizon line”.

Now it was time to start coloring. I used my Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers, which are alcohol markers. If you want to see a review of these markers head HERE. Beforehand I had already printed off my swatch chart onto the same color of kraft card stock I would be using on my card and filled it in so I could see how all of the colors would look. They will all appear a bit differently of this color of paper and they will also blend with different colors than they normally would, so be sure to check your blending groups before  you start to color. Also, let them dry before making your final decision. The colors will appear differently while they are wet than dry.

picture2

I colored in all of my peony petals with a set of three maroon-pink colors. I used green for the leaves, blue for the vase, brown for under the vase, and gray to create a shadow around the flowers and vase.

For my sentiment I stamped the “Birthday Wishes” sentiment from the SSS set Birthday Wishes in Versamark Ink. Stamping in Versamark ink allowed me to then sprinkle on some super fine detail gold embossing powder and heat emboss the sentiment. I did also apply a generous amount of embossing powder beforehand with my embossing bag.

picture4yt

Using double sided adhesive I attached the kraft panel to an A2 side folding card base that was made from Stampin’ Up!’s Rich Razzleberry cardstock. However, since this card stock is so dark, you could never read a message if I wrote one in on the inside of the card. To remedy this problem I stamped a few of the peonies and also two more sentiments from the Birthday Wishes stamp set in Versamark ink onto a piece of white card stock that measured 4″ X 5 1/4″. I also covered these images in super fine detail gold embossing powder and heat set them, and then using the same double sided adhesive, attached the white panel to the inside of the card.

picture3

To finish this card off I attached a few gold sequins to the card front using glossy accents and my Quickstik tool.

picture1


I really hope you too will try using your alcohol based markers to color some images on kraft card stock. It gives a completely new texture and look to your coloring with changing any of your supplies other than the color of your paper.

If you want to check out any of the supplies I used on this card they’re all linked below for your convenience. Thanks so much for stopping by and looking! Happy Crafting!


Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers

 

Leave a Reply

