General Cards · Video Tutorial

Simply a Card + A Faux Wooden Pallet Sign

Time for another card and gift idea! This time I have a bit of an anniversary card, I should say I used it as an anniversary card, but it could be for a few different occasions. I also have a faux wooden pallet sign that I will show you how to make. This is a great “base” sign to make that you could finish painting however you like! Again, I finished mine so it could be given as an anniversary gift, but the options here are literally endless!

Here is today’s card! ENJOY!!



Supply List

  • 1 x 4 @ 8ft
  • Miter or Jig Saw
  • Drill
  • Kreg Jig
  • Clamps
  • 1/4 Coarse Screws
  • Drill
  • Sander/Sand Paper
  • Triangle, Tape Measure, Pencil
  • Items to Finish Your Sign – I Used
    • Stain – Cheese Cloth – Gloves
    • White Colored Pencil – White Acrylic Paint – Brush
    • Saw Tooth Picture Hangers

Sign Tutorial Step 1

  1. Start with a 1″ x 4″ board that is at least 8 ft long.
  2. Using your tape measure, measure out 2 ft or 24 inches.
  3. Use your triangle to create a straight line at your 24 inch mark.

Sign Tutorial Step 2

  1. Put your board into your miter saw. You could also use a jig saw here or a hand saw even. You will just have a bit more sanding!
  2. Make sure your board is positioned properly by checking your blade against the pencil line. Once your happy with your placement clamp the board down.
  3. Cut your board. Make sure to let your saw determine how fast your cutting goes. Never force your blade to move faster through the wood than it wants to. This will lead to a bouncing board and rough cuts.

Sign Tutorial Step 3

  1. Using your 24 inch board that you just cut, use that as a guide to measure out the rest of your boards. This will lead to more even boards. Line up the 24 inch board with the end of your longer board.
  2. Put a pencil line to make where you should cut your next board and then repeat above by simply cutting with your saw of choice.
  3. You should end up with a total of four boards that measure 24 inches. You DO NOT want them to be perfect. A more rustic look will look like a more authentic pallet board sign.

Sign Tutorial Step 4

  1. For your next step you will need a Kreg jig. This little tool is AMAZING!! I have the portable one and it is only a $40 investment. This little guy has helped build NUMEROUS pieces of furniture in my house. It is not only used by t me, but my husband also uses this for almost every single one of his builds.
  2. Your Kreg jig should come with instructions and the first thing you want to do is measure the width of your wood. Now my board is supposed to be a 1 inch x 4 inch board. It is not, nor is any other board true to it’s exact measurements. Here you can see my board width is more accurately .75″. You really don’t want to skip this part or your screws can end up being too long and they will shove through the opposite side of the wood. Since I measured I know that I need 1 1/4″ screws as per the diagram in my instructions.
  3. I have read the instructions and know that my depth collar on my drill bit, that little silver piece around the bottom of the drill with the gray circle on it, needs to be set at 3/4″ and the little gray guides on the actual blue jig are also set to 3/4″.

Sign Tutorial Step 5

  1. With a pencil mark out exactly where you want your pocket holes. In the instructions it says every 6 inches. I thought that was a bit overkill for this particular project so I went with three sets, one on either edge and one in the center.
  2. Making sure your jig is positioned correctly clamp it down and then start drilling into the guides, making sure to go all the way until your depth collar hits the jig.
  3. This is what you should end up with. You can see only three of my boards needed pocket holes since the top board does not need connected to another board.

Sign Tutorial Step 6

  1. Switching out the drill bit with the screw driver in your drill. This is included with the kit. Start driving in the screws into the pocket holes until they are nice and secure. The best advice I can give you is to take your time and take it slow! If you try and go fast, you will either strip out your screws, which is just a mess to try and remove then, or you’ll crack your sign. Either way, it’s best to just go slowly!
  2. Once all of your screws are in place and secure you can flip your sign over to the front side and it should look like this! **You could also fill your pocket screw holes with some wood filler. If this was a gift for anyone other than my husband or I was selling this sign I most definitely would. All that entails is using a putty knife to fill the holes with the filler and then sanding.

Sign Tutorial Step 7

Give your sign a light sanding. You don’t really want to be too aggressive here as a true pallet sign wouldn’t be perfectly smooth. But a light sanding will remove any residue that could alter your stain or paint.

At this point you can choose to finish your sign however you wish. If you want to see how I finished mine, continue below!

Sign Tutorial Step 8

  1. With cheesecloth I removed all of the sanding dust. **You can disregard that matte polyurethane, I ended up not putting a sealant on this sign**
  2. Using a new piece of cheese cloth and wearing my gloves, I put on one coat of Varathane Wood Stain in Espresso. I applied the stain not only to the front and sides of the sign, but also the back for a finished look.
  3. This is how my sign ended up looking after one coat of stain sitting for about 5 minutes and then being rubbed in with a paper towel. I then let this dry overnight.

Sign Tutorial Step 9

  1. With a white colored pencil, I first sketched out my design. I went for a birch tree with a heart and our initials, along with the year we were married, carved into the trunk.
  2. I used white acrylic paint and a flat synthetic, cheap brush to paint on a few layers of the white paint following my sketch.
  3. After letting my sign dry for a few hours I turned it over and put on two saw tooth hangers on the left and right top corners. You could choose to apply whatever hanging method you want to. This sign would also be beautiful just sitting on a shelf!

Finished Project

Here is the finished sign, hanging up and looking beautiful! LOL! Now as I mentioned before, this was an anniversary gift but it could most definitely be used for a bridal shower or wedding gift or even someone else’s anniversary!

Also, you can’t forget the card, so if you haven’t yet you can watch the video above to see how I made this card!


I hope you all enjoyed this faux wooden pallet sign project and also the card! If you have any questions about this project you can leave them here and I will get back to you ASAP!! I know sometimes tools can be a bit intimidating, but if I can use them, anyone can!

The supply list for the faux pallet sign was listed above, however, if you’re interested in any of the supplies I used for today’s card, they’re all linked up below!!

Thank you so much for stopping by today!! Happy Crafting!!


 

Leave a Reply

