General Cards · Video Tutorial

Masking Sentiments

Masking scenes is one of my very favorite techniques, but along with masking your images, you can also mask your sentiments as well. Today I have a masculine card for you using the Two Paper Divas “Fishing” stamp set, in which I mask the sentiment in order to create a “break” in the scene. If you want to see how I created today’s card you can check out the video below!!

ENJOY!



This card started a bit different, I stamped my sentiment first directly in the middle of a 4″ x 5.25″ white cardstock panel. I used Memento Tuxedo Black Ink and my MISTI to stamp the “Happy Birthday to a “Reely” Cool Guy” sentiment from the “Fishing” stamp set from Two Paper Divas. I had stamped and cut a mask for the sentiment beforehand from masking paper and using my tweezers I placed it over the stamped sentiment.

Finished Card 4

With my sentiment masked off I could move on and stamped the remainder of my scene starting with the fishing pole and then the fish. I masked both of the images and then moved onto sponging a blue “haze” around the sentiment and images  using Salty Ocean Distress Ink and my mini ink blending tool. I started off with a VERY light hand and built up the color gradually.

Finished Card 3

When I was happy with my ink blending I removed all of the masks and colored in my images with alcohol markers. I used the Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers for all of my coloring on this card.

Keeping with the masculine theme of the card I simply popped up the colored panel, using fun foam and double sided adhesive, onto an A2 white top folding card base.

Finished Card 2


When masking sentiments the best thing to remember is, unless it is a very large sentiment, there is no way to get an exact mask. Just cut your mask with a slight border and any imperfections won’t be at all noticeable. You can mask sentiments that are small, large, long or short, the options are literally endless.

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used today, they’re all linked below for your convenience! Thanks so much for stopping by!! Happy Crafting!!


Two Paper Divas “Fishing” Stamp Set
Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

3 thoughts on “Masking Sentiments

Leave a Reply

