General Cards · Video Tutorial

Stamp Stacking

Masking a scene is always fun and today I am sharing with you a masking technique that allows you to create a “stacked” effect to create a cluster of one object, today that is cupcakes. It is such a fun and easy way to fill up a card front with a single stamp! I will be using the brand new set from Two Paper Divas called “Cupcake Treat”. It is a small set and the price is point is amazing. I know when beginning in this hobby, it can feel quite overwhelming with all of the products and sets on the market. But today, I made this card using only one small stamp set!

ENJOY!



I started with a piece of 4″ x 5.25″ white card stock. Using the cupcake from the “Cupcake Treat” Two Paper Divas stamp set I started stamping with Memento Tuxedo Black Ink. I started at the very bottom of the card stock, making sure to cut off the very bottom lines of the stamp. After stamping two cupcakes on the very bottom, I masked them off and stamped one in the very center of the two and then to the very far right. Now it was time to start “stacking”. The key here is to make sure that the cupcakes that will be in “front” of the cupcake are masked off and you don’t accidentally stamp on top of another without the mask in place. After I made sure that my masks were in place I brought the cupcake stamp sightly up on the card stock and stamped down. I kept moving my masks and stamping more cupcakes above the others to give the stacked appearance. I stamped until my cupcakes filled up 2/3 of the card stock. With all of my cupcakes stamped I finished off the panel by stamping the sentiment “Treat Yourself” from the same set right above the cupcakes, again, using Memento Tuxedo Black Ink.

Finished Card 1

To color in my cupcakes, I really focused on the actual cake part, instead of the icing. I colored in the cake with dark reds, browns, light yellows, and pinks, using my alcohol markers. I was going for different types of cakes, devils food, chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry. Each icing was colored in exactly the same with cream markers. I left each candle completely white and the flames were colored with just a bit of yellow and orange. I also put a layer of Wink of Stella over each candle for a bit of shimmer.

Finished Card 2

To put this card together I simply popped up the stamped panel on an A2 top folding white card base with fun foam and double sided adhesive. To add a bit more interest and shine I added a few Moonshine sequins, securing them with Glossy Accents, and that finished today’s card.

Finished Card 4


I hope you too will try stacking some of your stamped images! Again, it’s such a great way to fill up a card front with an individual stamp. However, you could always switch it up with a few stamps for more fun!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, they’re all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


4 thoughts on “Stamp Stacking

Leave a Reply

