Hello Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Watercolor With Distress Markers

When I first bought a set of Distress Markers, I really wasn’t that impressed with them, I’ll admit. But the more I started playing with them and continued to use them, they really became a favorite coloring medium of mine. Today I created a card using the brand new Two Paper Divas stamp set “Sending a Little Note” and colored in my scene using the direct to paper technique with Distress Markers. You can check out the video below to see exactly how I did it!

ENJOY!



First, I needed to stamp out my scene. I started with a piece of watercolor paper, measuring 4.25″ x 5.5″, in my MISTI and stamped the mailbox on the bottom right corner with waterproof black ink. I masked off the first mailbox, re positioned the stamp to the left and stamped the mailbox down again. In the upper left hand corner I stamped the bird, masked it off and then stamped the letter to appear as if it is in the bird’s beak. When I stamped the letter, it didn’t quite line up so to fix this I simply used a micron pen to lengthen the bird’s beak slightly to hold the letter. Finally, for the horizon line, I used a landscape hill die as a stencil and my micron pen to draw in a hill.

Finished Card 1

With my stamping complete it was time to move onto the watercolor. This time I brought my markers directly to the paper and using the brush tip put down color where it would be shaded or the darkest. Then, with a water brush, I pulled out the color. I filled in all of the images with color, including the grass and then after it was dry I came back in with more color and less water to add shading. My final step was to take the Tumbled Glass Marker and outline all of my images and the horizon line with it. I was pretty generous with the color here. I then took a larger brush with quite a bit of water loaded into it and kept working the blue color until I was happy with the blending. Finally, I brought in my heat tool and made sure the panel was really dry before moving on to putting the card together.

Finished Card 2

To put this card together I cut down all the sides of my panel by .25″ and mounted it onto a piece of black card stock with double sided adhesive. I adhered these panels to an A2 top folding red card base with, again, double sided adhesive and fun foam. To add some sparkle I put on a few Moonshine sequins with glossy accents. As for my sentiment, I used the long vertical sentiment that came with the stamp set to stamp a greeting on the inside of the card again, with black dye ink.

Finished Card 3


I hope you too will pull out your Distress Markers and try the direct to paper watercoloring technique with the. It is such a fun way to watercolor and really gives such vibrant colors!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used today, they’re all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!


Sending a Little Note Stamp Set – Two Paper Divas

 

8 thoughts on “Watercolor With Distress Markers

Leave a Reply

