Get Well Cards · Video Tutorial

Stamp Stacking (Again)

A few weeks ago I made an entire card using only two stamps from the Two Paper Divas “Cupcake Treat” stamp set, all with the help of the stamp stacking technique. Today, I’m going to do the exact same technique, only start from the top and work my way down for a different look! It is such a fun way to fill up an entire card front with only one stamp! Here’s the video tutorial!

ENJOY!!



I started this card with a piece of white card stock measuring 4″ x  5.25″. Using the umbrella from the Two Paper Divas “Rainy Days” stamp set and Memento Tuxedo Black Ink I started stamping in the top right hand corner. I continued stamping umbrellas on the very top of the card stock making sure they were very random looking, not straight or lined up and not the same distance apart. You may have to do some masking here but you will most definitely have to do masking as you work your way down the card stock. Again, the best advice with this technique is to double check you have all of the images masked that need it as you work your across and down the paper. It is so easy to get ahead of yourself and then ruin your entire front with one little mistake! When I was happy with all of my stamping and how many umbrellas I had on my card front I stuck my paper in my MISTI  and using the same ink stamped the sentiment “Under the Weather?” right under the umbrella handles on the right side.

Finished Card 3

Now that all of my stamping was complete I moved onto my coloring. I first taped down the panel onto a hard board so I wouldn’t end up with any weird patterns in my coloring and pulled out my alcohol markers. I colored in my umbrellas with yellows and reds keeping it pretty simple and then the handles were colored with gray. The fun part of coloring was definitely the “sky”. For a stormy look I started flicking my markers down away from the umbrellas for a streaky grey and blue look, like when rain actually falls. I also put a darker grey shadow underneath each of the umbrellas so they would pop off the paper a bit more.

Finished Card 2

It was now time to put the card together. I first mounted my colored panel onto a piece of yellow card stock that was cut slightly larger with double sided adhesive. I then put the mounted panel onto an A2 top folding white card base using double sided adhesive and fun foam for a bit of dimension. Finally, I added a few black and white sequins from Pretty Pink Posh  with glossy accents and stamped the “I’m There For You Rain or Shine” sentiment on the inside of the card with black dye ink.

Finished Card 1


This stamp stacking technique really lends itself to any number of stamp sets that you may have on hand, however, if you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on my card today, they’re all linked below! (Affililiate links are being used.)

Thanks so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


Two Paper Divas – Rainy Days Stamp Set

Stampin’ Up! Crushed Curry Card Stock

Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

 

5 thoughts on “Stamp Stacking (Again)

Leave a Reply

