Alcohol Markers · Digital Images · General Cards

Creating a Sunset with Distress Inks

Today Digistamps4Joy is having a new release day, but it is more of a release of older images being reintroduced into the store. This is a great chance to see some images being used that you may already have or to buy a few that you didn’t get the chance to! Today I will be using the gorgeous digital stamp “Aloe”. I want to add in here that I had no idea the aloe plant had flowers, so don’t ever say your stamps won’t teach you something!! This stamp was absolutely the perfect image to do a bit of fussy cutting with and add a sunset behind it! You can watch the video below to see how I did it!

ENJOY!



As always, I started in Photoshop Elements with a project measuring 4.25″ x 5.5″ and placed in my digital stamp. I enlarged the image until it filled up the majority of the panel, flattened my project and printed onto white cardstock using my Brother Laser Printer, making sure to print with crop marks. After printing I used my paper trimmer to completely cut out the panel making sure it was the right size by using my crop marks.

Finished Card 1

Next, I colored in my aloe image and the ground beneath it with my alcohol markers. I didn’t add any color to the sky and wasn’t very careful with my coloring above the horizon line because that would all be cut away next. Once I was happy with my coloring and blending I brought out my fine detail scissors and fussy cut around the image that was above the horizon line. Then, using a black marker I went over all of the cut lines for a cleaner look.

Finished Card 3

Bringing in my card base, which was A2 in size, I started blending on my sunset. To do this I used Distress Inks in Mustard Seed, Spiced Marmalade, and Festive Berries. I used my mini ink blending tool to start with mustard seed at the bottom. Once I had down an initial layer down I brought in spiced marmalade and alternated between the two until I had a nice intensity of color and blend. I then used spiced marmalade and festive berries, blending between the two again until I was happy. You can add as much color as you wish and keep blending between colors until you are happy with the not only the blending  but also the intensity of colors. I finished off my card by popping up the aloe plant panel with fun foam and double sided adhesive for a bit of dimension and then added glossy accents droplets all around the image for some decoration.

Finished Picture 2.jpg


If you haven’t yet headed over to the Digistamps4Joy shop, make sure to take a peek and see all of the awesome re-release images that are back up for sale! Also, the monthly challenge is still going on and you have plenty of time to enter one of your cards for a chance to win! If you want to see my card for the challenge along with the video tutorial on layering digital stamps you can HERE! (Remember the twist is optional!!)

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, they’re all linked below!! Thanks so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


  1. Digistamps4Joy “Aloe” Digital Stamp
  2. Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

Leave a Reply

