Thank You Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Cut Away Card

One of my favorite stamps from Stampin’ Up is the Corner Garden stamp. I have used it on my blog before and if you want to check out that card you can go HERE! (It’s all about watercoloring with Wink of Stella.) Today, I want to share how to make a cut away card and this stamp was just the perfect choice! You can check out the video below for the tutorial!!

ENJOY!!



For my card I started with a piece of watercolor paper that measured 5.5″ x 8″. I folded it in half and was left with a 4″ x 5.5″ side folding card base. Now I will be water coloring my images so I used water color paper, however, you should use whatever paper corresponds to your coloring medium of choice.  Using my MISTI, without the foam insert, I stamped down the Corner Garden stamp onto the card I had just made. I used black dye ink and stamped about three times to get a really good impression on watercolor paper. Then, using my Distress markers and a water color brush I colored in all of the images from the stamp. I also put a blue halo around all of the images with a Tumbled Glass Marker so there was no white left on the card front. To finish off I used my heat tool to dry the entire card front.

Finished Card 2

With my card completely dry, I used my large Fiskars scissors to cut away all of the paper on the right side of the stamp. I didn’t cut very close to my images and didn’t follow their exact linage and the trick to making this look nice is to not leave any corners or harsh lines. It may take a few touch ups but you really want to make sure you leave a clean cut edge that’s very smooth. One other tip is to make sure to move and turn your paper, not your scissors.

Finished Card 3

One you have your right edge cut away you should be able to see the inside of the card. I didn’t want to leave this stark white so I sponged on a bit of Antique Linen Distress Ink with a mini ink blending tool. This really helps the cut away pop. To finish off the card I added a sentiment from the Avery Elle “Peony” stamp set that reads “Thanks So Much”. I stamped this on part of the cut away, so technically on the inside of the card, with black dye ink. And that finished off the card for today!

Finished Card 1


I hope you all enjoyed this cut away technique and I’ve inspired you to try this out and cut away part of the front of your next card!!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card you can find them all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


Stampin’ Up’s Corner Garden Stamp is no longer available. I have linked a few alternatives that would work just as well with this technique.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

