General Cards · Video Tutorial

Embossing with Dye Ink

Two Paper Divas recently had a new release and if you haven’t checked it out, you REALLY need to! You can go HERE to see all the new stamp sets they have in their shop! Today, I will be using the brand new “” Stamp Set to create my card for today. You can check out the video below to see how I did some heat embossing with dye ink!!

ENJOY!



I started with a piece of white card stock that measured 4″ x 5.25″. In the top center portion of the card I stamped the sentiment “” in red dye ink using my MISTI. I then wiped off my sentiment stamp, inked it up again using Versamark Ink and stamped directly on top of the red ink. I was then able to sprinkle on some clear embossing powder and heat set the image! This allowed me to use a red dye ink and still heat emboss!

Finished Card 4

With my sentiment stamped I used a circle die to cut a piece of masking paper. I then applied my circle mask over the sentiment to mask it off. Using the anchor image from the stamp set and Versamark Ink I repeatedly stamped the anchor all over the white panel. I then removed the circle mask and sprinkled of silver embossing powder. Because of the mask you will have some of the silver powder stick where you don’t want it, but a small paint brush will remove any unwanted powders. I then heat set all of the silver embossing powder.

Finished Card 1

To frame the sentiment I used the same circle die that I used to cut the mask nested inside a slightly larger circle to create a frame from navy cardstock. I adhered this around the sentiment using glossy accents. I then popped up the white panel using fun foam and double sided adhesive onto an A2 top folding red card base.

Finished Card 3


Now that I have this trick up my sleeve I have no need to buy all the different colors of embossing powders, especially since I’ve collected so many inks over the years! I hope you too will pull out some of your dye inks and give this technique a try!

Also, be sure to head over and check out the rest of the new release from Two Paper Divas! There are so many great sets that are new this month!!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, they’re all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!


Two Paper Divas – Anchors the Soul

**Some items may differ from what I use specifically (the embossing powders), however, these are the products I recommend. Sometimes I buy products, but I’m not 100% happy with them, but continue to use them until they’re gone!!**

5 thoughts on “Embossing with Dye Ink

  1. I know I’m a little behind on my commenting 😦 but it’s been fun visiting your site today and seeing all your cards and creations again. I get the pleasure of seeing them when I upload them but it’s always much more fun to read about the details on your site. Love your work and so happy you are on our team! Melissa

    Like

Leave a Reply

