General Cards · Thank You Cards · Video Tutorial

Distress Ink Blending & Lifting

I have been on a distress ink kick lately!! It’s not surprising since there are sooo many uses for these inks pads. Today I will be sharing a more “artsy” card than I normally do, but it’s bright, fun and fairly quick to make! You can watch the video below for the full tutorial on how I used Distress Ink to blend on a background and then lift some away with water!

Here’s the video! ENJOY!!



Starting with a piece of watercolor measuring 4″ x 4.25″ and my mini ink blending tool I began applying distress ink in the top left hand corner. Working in rainbow order (Exact colors of distress ink I used are all linked below) and blending between two colors at once I kept applying and blending my colors at an angle until the entire piece of paper was covered with a heavy layer of ink. **A little tip** Watercolor Paper is a little easier the blend on and also doesn’t allow the ink to soak into the fibers of the paper so lifting the color will give you a cleaner and more intense result than using regular watercolor paper.

Finished Card 4

When I was happy with the blending and intensity of colors, using my fingers I sprinkled and splashed on some clean water. You can use a spray bottle, splatter brush, paint brush, your fingers, whatever is easier for you to get some splatters on the paper. I let the water sit for a few minutes and then dabbed it up with a paper towel. You can see on the right hand side of my card I did get a bit of texture from my paper towel, which was a nice added bonus!

Finished Card 3

For the sentiment on my card I used the Stampin’ Up “Best Day Ever” stamp set. (This set was a Sale-a-bration set and is no longer available. I’ve listed three alternatives below or you can use whatever large sentiment you have on hand.) I stamped it a few times using my MISTI and Versafine Onyx Black Ink in the center of the inked panel. I sprinkled on some clear embossing powder and then heat set. To finish off the card I simply popped up the panel on a black top folding notecard using fun foam and double sided adhesive and then added a few Moonshine sequins, securing them with Glossy Accents.

Finished Card 1


Distress Inks are such a versatile and fun ink to really play around with. There are so many different techniques you can do with them, you really get your money worth out them! I hope you all enjoyed my tutorial on Distess Ink Blending and Lifting and I hope I’ve inspired you to give it a try as well.

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, they’re all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by!! Happy Crafting!!


3 thoughts on “Distress Ink Blending & Lifting

Leave a Reply

