Die Cutting Techniques · General Cards · Hello Cards · Video Tutorial

Creating Punch Art

Two Paper Divas has an awesome new sentiment set that they released this month called “Junk Food Alley“. They do have a few stamps, (and another one coming, SHHH!!), that coordinate with the sentiments that are great, however, when I seen this set and wanted to create some punch art with it! A quick search on Pinterest will show you a ton of punch art ideas, but today I am sharing how I created a popcorn punch art card in the video below!

ENJOY!!



For the best explanation of this card I would most definitely recommend watching the video, but I will do my best to explain in writing as well!  I started by die cutting a piece of white card stock that was folded in half with a 3.5″ circle die, making sure the top was hand off the fold so it would stay attached. This would serve as the top of my card for a place to secure my “popcorn”. I also used the “Hydrangeas & Border” steel rule die from Sizzix to cut several of the flowers from white, dark yellow, and light yellow cardstock. These would serve as my popcorn kernels. Then, I cut down two 3″x 4″ white cardstock rectangles at an angle for the bucket. While I had my paper trimmer out I also cut .5″ strips of red cardstock for the stripes on the bucket. I simply glued these on one of the angled rectangles with glossy accents and then trimmed off the excess.

Finished Card 2

To add a bit of depth and dimension to my kernels and make them more realistic I added Distress Ink to each in the shades of Spiced Marmalade and Mustard Seed using my Mini Ink Blending Tool. With all of my components ready to go it was time to start putting it all together.

Finished Card 3

I started my adhered the half circle to the two angled rectangles to create a card base. (Watch the video for tips and tricks on how I did this step) Then, I started adhereing the kernels to the top of the card. I used glossy accents first, and then switched to foam dots for added dimension. Finally, for my sentiment I did a bit of partial die cutting to cut a small banner from white card stock. I stamped on the “Pop by sometime!” sentiment included in the Junk Food Alley stamp set from Two Paper Divas using black dye ink. To adhere the banner onto the card front I used a bit of foam tape for more dimension!

Finished Card 4


This was such a fun card to make and really came together quite quickly! It does have quite a bit of dimension, so it will most definitely have to be a hand delivered card, but will be perfect as a masculine or kid’s card. This is one of those cards that is sure to put a smile on someone’s face.

I hope you all enjoyed this fun punch art card and don’t forget to go check out the Junk Food Alley sentiment stamp. There are even more great sentiments that you can use to create even more Punch Art!! If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, they’re all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!!


Junk Food Alley Stamp Set – Two Paper Divas

6 thoughts on “Creating Punch Art

  1. Pingback: Selective Stamping

Leave a Reply

