Die Cutting Techniques · General Cards

Lunchbox Notes #5

Today is the last day in my lunchbox notes series. If you’ve missed any of the previous videos, there is a Lunchbox Notes playlist on my Youtube Channel, you can check that out HERE. Today I will be sharing two way to create shaped cards in the video tutorial. The great thing about this technique is you can use it on a larger scale and created “regular” or larger cards for any occasion! You can check out the video tutorial below for all the information!

ENJOY!!



I am going to go about the write up a bit different today so it will make a bit more sense, but as usual, I HIGHLY suggest watching the video for a more in depth view of these cards. I created shaped cards two ways today. The first way is described below.

Finished Cards 4

  1. First, I folded a piece of white cardstock in half. Then, I lined up my die so the top cutting portion would hang off above the fold. I ran this through my die cutting machine and was left with a complete card base that was ready to go. Because I let my die hang off above the fold, the folded part stayed intact.
  2. I first die cut two pieces of white card stock with the same die. On one of the die cuts I put in a score line using my paper trimmer and bone folder. I adhered a bit of double sided adhesive above the score line, removed the backing paper and then lined up the second die cut and gave a firm press to the adhesive to adhere the two together. Finally, to make it a bit easier to open I used my bone folder to give the score line a good crease.

Finished Cards 5

For two of the card designs I used Lawn Fawn’s “Loads of Fun” stamp set. On the first I stamped the “I’m missing you” sentiment towards the bottom. Then I stamped the outline of the socks, then filled them in the solid sock stamp and dye ink. To finish these cards off I stamped the little sad face into each sock using black dye ink. The second design with this set started by stamping “loads of fun” with Memento Tuxedo Black Ink onto the center of the card. I then masked off the sentiment with a strip of painter’s tape and stamped the laundry basket in the center of the card front. Finally I stamped the “we have” and “together” sentiments on the top and bottom of the card, so I was left with a card front that read “We Have Loads of Fun Together”. I colored the laundry basket in with my alcohol markers.

Finished Cards 3

My last cards were done exactly the same way the only difference is one is shaped as a circle the other is in the shape of the milk bottle. Both were stamped with black dye ink and the Wplus9 “Milk and Cookies” stamp set. I also die cut the cookies from the matching die set and stamped on the matching stamp, again with black dye ink. I stamped the milk bottle and the wavy line to make it appear as if there is liquid in the bottle. Finally the cookies were attached with a foam dot.

Finished Cards 1


Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

 

One thought on “Lunchbox Notes #5

Leave a Reply

