Alcohol Markers · Digital Images · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Let’s Make a Card – DS4J New Release

Digistamps4Joy is back at it this Sunday with a brand new release. Today, I will be making my card with the brand new digital stamp called “Better Late Than Never”, but you can head over to the shop HERE to see all the other digis that are being released today too! Make sure to watch the video below and see exactly how I made this Sunday’s card!

ENJOY!



As usual my card started first in Photoshop Elements. I opened a new blank file that measure 4.25″ x 5.5″ and had a white background. I brought in and placed the “Better Late Than Never” digital stamp in the very bottom left hand corner and enlarged it a bit to fill up the majority of the card front. When I printed off the panel with my laser printer I made sure to print with crop marks to help in cutting out the front panel exactly to an A2 size. I also printed the same exact panel off a second time onto computer paper. This would allow me to fussy cut the digital stamp to create a mask.

Finished Card 2

After trimming out my panel to an A2 size and fussy cutting my image from the computer paper I brought in my alcohol markers and colored in my digital stamp. I kept the color VERY simple. When the coloring was complete and dry it was time to start on the background. In order add some ink through a stencil to the background I needed to mask off my image. To mask off my digital stamp I simply applied a bit of rubber cement to the back of my computer paper image and quickly aligned it with my colored image. The rubber cement will keep the “mask” in place very well, but when you’re finished with it, it removes very easily and any leftover glue or residue rubs away with your finger!

Finished Card 3

With my image masked off I was then able to put a line stencil from Stampin’ Up over the top and apply a bit of gray ink with my mini ink blending tool. When I was happy with the intensity of the color I simply removed my mask and my image was still perfect underneath! To finish off the card I stamped a “Happy Birthday” sentiment on the bottom right hand side with black dye ink and applied a few Moonshine sequins. I kept this a “one layer card” by attaching some double sided adhesive to the back of my panel and applying it to an A2 white top folding card base.

Finished Card 4


So if you have’t visited the Shop at Digistamps4Joy yet, make sure to head over and check out the awesome new release. There’s also an Anything Goes Challenge happening on the DS4J Blog, with an optional color challenge twist, so don’t miss it!

I hope my video has inspired you to make a card yourself! And if you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, they’re all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!!


DS4J Digital Stamp – Better Late Than Never

Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

Leave a Reply

