Alcohol Markers · General Cards · Tags · Video Tutorial

Making Bookmarks

Do you ever see a stamp set and know exactly what project you want to use it for? That is what happened to me with the brand new “Afternoon Tea” stamp set from Two Paper Divas. I’ve been wanting to make a set of bookmarks, for an adult, for some time now, but I’ve never felt like I’ve had just the right stamp to do it until I got this stamp and that set the whole idea in motion. For this set of bookmarks I used four different sets from Two Paper Divas for more variation, but you could easily just make one of these designs multiple times to make a set as well! You can watch the video below for the full tutorial!

ENJOY!



Starting with six strips of white cardstock that measured 2.5″ x 5.5″ I made a mark with a pencil in the top center of each strip as well as 1″ from the top of both sides. This allowed me to line up the center mark with the mark on the side with the wire guide in my paper trimmer and cut both sides at an angle to create a point at the top of each bookmark for a fun shape, without using a die. I made sure to completely erase all of my pencil lines when I was through trimming.

Finished Bookmarks 3

With the shape of the bookmarks done it was time to start stamping.  On two of the tags I stamped the large sentiments “Be the Reason” and “Dream Big” with Memento Dye Ink in the colors of Sweet Plum and Bamboo Leaves. On another two I used the “Seeds of Hope” stamp set and Memento Tuxedo Black Ink to stamp out a flower pot and plant. I then stamped two sentiment included in the stamp set under each pot. On the last two I used the brand new “Afternoon Tea” set to stamp the pile of books with the tea cup, again with Memento Tuxedo Black Ink on the top center of each bookmark. Underneath each book pile I stamped the “Live. Love. Laugh.” sentiment from the “Banners #3” stamp set.

Finished Bookmarks 4

With all of my scenes created I colored each in with my alcohol markers, making sure to carry colors from each bookmark over to the next. Because I used my alcohol markers to colors in my images I had bleed through to the back side. To remedy this and cover the backside of the bookmarks I cut six strips of patterned paper to the same size and shape as the bookmarks. I then used double sided adhesive to adhere the patterned paper to the bookmark. I used my long blade scissors to trim off any excess and make all of my edges flush.

Finished Bookmarks 2

To finish off these bookmarks I decided to laminate them. I used my heat laminator, along with some 3M 8.5″ x 11″ laminating pockets ( I only used one from the pack). Once they cooled down I used my scissors to trim each bookmark out. I left a .25″ border of lamination around each to make sure they stayed sealed and secure. Then, with my cheap hole punch I put a hole at the top center of each bookmark. For my final step I simply threaded a bit of ribbon through the top of each bookmark.

Finished Bookmarks 1


Making this set of bookmarks was such a fun and different project to tackle. I really love the way they turned out, especially using so many different sets on one project!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s project, they’re all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


Two Paper Divas – Afternoon Tea Stamp Set

  • Two Paper Divas Shop
    • Be The Reason Stamp Set
    • Dream Big Stamp Set
    • Seeds of Hope Stamp Set
    • Banners #3 Sentiment Set

6 thoughts on “Making Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

