General Cards

Making Placecards

Some very exciting news came to me almost two weeks ago, I have been invited to join the Craftin’ Desert Divas Digi Design Team. I am so excited to join such a great company and a very talented group of ladies (you can find a list of all the design team member and their blogs HERE). Today, for my very first project I am using the “Scarecrow with a Fence” digital stamp (Click here to purchase) to create a set of place cards. You can watch the video below to see exactly how I did it!!



Starting in Photoshop Elements I opened a new project that measured 2″ x 4″. I placed the “Scarecrow with a Fence” digital stamp onto the project, dropped it into the bottom left hand corner and enlarged it just a bit, making sure I had enough room on the right hand side to add a name. When I was happy with the my place card I opened a new project that was 8.5″ x 11″, which is the size of the cardstock I would printing these onto. I located the place card in my photo bin and drug it onto the new blank file. At this point, you do not want to enlarge or make it any smaller, just click the green arrow to place it. In the layers tab, I simplified the place card layer so I could then add a stroked outline around the image, from the edit tab. I made my outline black in color and 2 pixels. After all this was completed I started moving the place card layer around, duplicating the layer and filling up the entire project with place cards so no space would be wasted.

finished-cards-3

At this point you can either print, save, or like me, type names in. If you have pretty handwriting or calligraphy is your thing you can write in the names. You could also stamp in the names with an alphabet set or, like I did, you can type in the names. I just used a simple font in black and typed in a few names on the right hand side of the card. After all this was complete I printed off the 8.5″ x 11″ project with my laser printer onto piece of white 110 lb cardstock as well as a piece of plain computer paper.

finished-cards-5

After my projects printed out, I used my paper trimmer to trim out my place cards, using the black outline I had put around each as a guide. I colored in each digital stamp with my alcohol markers, trying to keep the colors very traditionally fall. After each was colored in I set them aside to give them plenty of time to fully dry. While I was waiting, I used my fine detail scissors to trim out the digital stamp from one of the cards that was printed onto the computer paper. This computer paper would become my mask by simply applying a bit of rubber cement to the back, quickly placing it over my colored image and allowing it to dry for a few minutes. I then used Distress Inks in Salty Ocean and Mowed Lawn, along with a hand cut mask to sponge on a sky and ground. When I was happy with the intensity of the inks I peeled off the “mask” and rubbed away any left over residue with my finger.

finished-cards-2

I did not cut out my masks perfectly, so to fix all of the little spots that I missed inking I used a Fantastix tool dipped in the corresponding ink. To put my place cards together I simply applied some double sided adhesive to the back of each colored panel and attached each to the place card. The actual place card I made myself by cutting white cardstock down to 4″ x 4″ and scored it down the middle. This left me with a 2″ tall by 4″ wide top folding “card”.

finished-cards-1


I hope I’ve inspired you to make a set of place cards for your next dinner party, family gathering, etc. They really are a fun way to add a homemade touch to your table!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s project, they’re all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!


Click here for the Craftin’ Desert Divas “Scarecrow With a Fence” Digital Stamp

Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48


 

Leave a Reply

