Birthday Cards · Video Tutorial

Using Stamps In Unexpected Ways

Two Paper Divas has a brand new stamp set called “Bottle Brush Trees” and I absolutely love it. I have used it in it’s intended way and its gorgeous and makes a gorgeous card (the design team has rocked it with this stamp set!!), however, I wanted to see if I could stretch the use of these stamps in other ways than just a Christmas or winter themed card. So today I have three different ways I used this one stamp set in an unexpected way! You can watch the video below to see just how I did it!

ENJOY!!



finished-cards-2

Card 1: Starting with an A2 top folding white card base I masked off the back of the card to protect it from any ink. Using the “tree” stamp in the set I inked it up with hot pink ink and starting stamping in the top left corner, making sure it was turned on it’s side, I then inked it up again and stamped it down making sure the bottoms of the tree were aligned. Finally I inked it one last time and stamped it down with the tops of the trees aligning. I repeated the pattern all the way across the card alternating rows with hot pink ink and gray ink.

Card 2: I started with an A2 top folding white card base. Using the rectangle stamp I stamped a reapeating pattern with blue, orange, and lime green ink to make it appear as if the card had a brick background. I kept repeating the same pattern until the entire card was filled. In order to keep the pattern clean I made sure the stamp was wiped clean of any remain ink so the colors didn’t contaminate each other.

Card 3: Again, I started with an A2 top folding white base and masked off the back. I used the last piece of the tree for this card, the “stick”. I mounted both the larger and smaller lines onto acrylic blocks and randomly stamped them both in blue, hot pink, and gray ink until the card front was filled.

finished-cards-4

Each card was completed the exact same way. I stamped the “Birthday Wishes” stamp from the Two Paper Divas “More Candles” stamp set in Versmark onto black cardstock strips that measured .5″ x 2″. After heat embossing each sentiment with  white embossing powder, I attached them to each card base with fun foam and double sided adhesive. To add a bit of sparkle I attached different sequins to each card using Glossy Accents and my Quickstik tool.

finished-card-3


Taking a look at all your stamp sets and thinking of new and creative ways to use and stretch them is so much fun! I hope I’ve inspired you to do the same!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you can find them all linked below. Thank you for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


Two Paper Divas – Bottle Brush Trees Stamp Set

Two Paper Divas – Make a Wish Stamp Set

 

2 thoughts on “Using Stamps In Unexpected Ways

Leave a Reply

