Alcohol Markers · Digital Images · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Simply a Card

It has been quite some time since I’ve uploaded a “Simply a Card” video to my series. If you aren’t familiar with my Simply a Card series, it is basically a video depicting my cardmaking process but without me talking, there is just music backing the video. Today I am sharing my card for the Digistamps4Joy Challenge. As always it is an anything goes challenge, but this month’s twist is a color challenge. You can find the colors to choose from on the DS4J Challenge Blog, along with the rest of the details! Make sure to watch the video below to see exactly how I made my card!

ENJOY!!



I used the Butterfly Digital Stamp that was given as part of the Progressive Freebie Challenge. I brought it into a new blank file in Photoshop Elements and enlarged it until it filled the entire A2 card front. I printed out the panel onto white cardstock with my laser printer and roughly trimmer out the butterfly.

finished-card-1

I brought out my alcohol markers and keeping within the colors of the challenge I colored in the wings with yellows and the tail with pinks and fuschias. Then, using my detail scissors I fussy cut the digital stamp. To make the fussy cutting of the stamp look more polished, I ran a black marker along the cut edges.

finished-card-2

For the background on this card I simply used a scrap piece of cardstock cut with a cloud border die as a stencil along with salty ocean distress ink to lightly sponge on a cloud background on an A2 white top folding card base. I attached the butterfly on top of the card base with fun foam and double sided adhesive. And to add a bit of sparkle I attached a few light blue and clear rhinestones.

finished-card-3


I hope I have inspired you to pull out some of your supplies and make a card as well! And if you do make sure to link up to the Digistamps4Joy Challenge for your chance to win some great prizes!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you can find them all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by today!! Happy Crafting!


Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

Leave a Reply

