Birthday Cards · Video Tutorial · Watercolor

Loose Watercolor with Distress Markers

It is football season and here in Iowa it is going strong. My little guy just finished up with soccer and is now playing flag football, so when I received the “Go Team” stamp set from Two Paper Divas I was ecstatic to have a stamp set to dress up little snack bags and gifts for all the kiddos, no matter what the sport is. Today, I didn’t use the set for little tags though I used it for a birthday card for my father-in-law. It is awesome for any masculine card! You can check out the video below to see how I combined the “” stamp set with some loose watercolor for a masculine birthday card perfect for the football season!

ENJOY!



Starting with the football and “Go Team!” stamp from the set loaded onto acrylic blocks I stamped out a background onto a piece of 4″ x 5 1/4″ watercolor paper by randomly stamping the two images with Versafine Onyx Black Ink. Once this ink is dry it becomes waterproof so you do need to sit it aside to dry for a bit of time or you can bring your heat tool to it to speed up the process.

finished-card-3

Using a Vintage Photo Distress Marker I quickly, and I mean quickly and messily, scribbled in some color into each of the footballs. The key here is to not spend much time or thought into the coloring, you truly want to scribble quickly and just get a bit of color down. I also used a Wild Honey marker to quickly scribble over each “Go Team!” sentiment. I used Wild Honey because we are fans of the Iowa Hawkeyes (College Football Team) and their colors are more of a golden yellow and black. You could use whatever color corresponds with your team colors. Then, using a very wet watercolor brush I quickly spread out the color on both the footballs and sentiments, again being very “loose” and not putting much though or care into it. If the color seeps out a bit from the lines or is darker in some places than others, that is great! I then set this panel aside to dry and stamped the t-shirt stamp onto some scrap cardstock with Versafine ink. Inside the t-shirt I stamped the “#1 Fan” sentiment using the same ink. I used my heat tool to quickly dry the ink, added a bit of the color from the Wild Honey Distress marker, and again, quickly spread the color with a pretty wet watercolor brush. I dried it quickly with my heat tool and then cut it out with my fine detail scissors leaving a bit of a border around the image.

finished-card-2

With all of my pieces done and dry I could put this card together. I first adhered the football panel with double sided adhesive and fun foam to the front of an A2 top folding black card base. Next, I popped up the t-shirt image with the same adhesive and fun foam, but I did add a messy nest of clear thread behind the image for a bit of dimension and interest. Because I used a black card base, I also added a piece of white cardstock to the inside of the card. I stamped the “Enjoy your day” sentiment from the Two Paper Divas “Banners #3” sentiment set with black dye ink and stamped a few footballs around the sentiment with the same ink as well.

finished-card-4


This set is such a great masculine set to have on hand. It is filled with not only sports images, but the t-shirt, hat, and sneaker images are perfect for any occasion! I know this set is most definitely going to be well loved!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s “Loose Watercolor” card you can find them all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


Two Paper Divas – Go Team Stamp Set

Two Paper Divas – Banners #3 Stamp Set

 

3 thoughts on “Loose Watercolor with Distress Markers

Leave a Reply

