Alcohol Markers · Christmas Cards · Digital Images · Video Tutorial

Let’s Make a Card – DS4J Challenge

October is here and that means a new challenge has begun over at Digistamps4Joy!! As always the theme is anything goes, but this month’s twist is to create your own background. I decided to use the “My Little Tree” digital stamp (I’ve wanted to use it for awhile now) and create a scene with this little guy! You can watch the video below to see exactly how I did it!!

ENJOY!!



After opening a new blank file in Photoshop Elements that measured 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ I placed the “My Little Tree” digital stamp from Digistamps4Joy onto the project. After enlarging the image quite a bit, so it would take up the majority of the panel, I printed off the panel, with crop marks, onto white card stock using my laser printer. After it was printed I used the crop marks and my paper trimmer to cut the panel out.

finished-card-4

The object of this challenge is to create your own background, so after coloring in my image with my alcohol markers , I began sketching out a background with my markers as well. It really is quite simple to create a background with your markers. Because it’s the background there doesn’t have to be alot of fine details. If you want to see exactly how I made the background you can watch the video!! Once my image and scene was completely colored I brought in my Falling Snow stencil and whipped spackle to put down some “falling snow” over the scene.

finished-card-2

While my spackle was drying I started with the sentiment. I trimmed a small rectangle of black card stock to 1/2″ x 2″ and treated it with an embossing bag. I stamped a “Merry Christmas” sentiment with Versamark Ink, covered it in white embossing powder and heat set it. After attaching my, now dry, colored image panel to an A2 white top folding card base I attached the cardstock strip in the bottom right hand corner with fun foam and double sided adhesive.

finished-card-3


I hope you all enjoyed today’s Let’s Make a Card video and it has inspired you to make a card as well. And if you do in fact make a card, remember to enter it into the challenge. You can find the link HERE. Remember, it’s an Anything Goes Challenge so any card will do!!

If you are interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you can find them all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!!


Digistamps4Joy – My Little Tree Digital Stamp

Leave a Reply

