Digital Images · Digital Stamping · Hello Cards · Video Tutorial

Adding Dimension to Digital Stamps

It’s no secret I love to use digital stamps to create one layer cards, however, I wanted to create a scene but also add some dimension and shadows, without using coloring techniques. You can watch the video below to see how I used the brand new “Fall Pile Boy” Digital Stamp to create some really fun dimension on my card for today.

ENJOY!!



In Photoshop Elements I created my panel. I started with a 3.75″ x 5″ new blank project and placed on the “Fall Pile Boy” Digital stamp. I enlarged it a bit, filling up the top portion of the panel, and centered it there in the top portion. Underneath the stamp I typed out my own quick sentiment using the Chocolate Raindrops font and then it was time to print. I printed this panel off three separate times. Twice on white cardstock and once on plain computer paper. How many times you print off you panel is entirely dependent upon how much dimension you want to add and also the layout of your stamp, you’ll get more of an idea as you see how I put my card together. I also printed off on the computer paper because I wanted to do a bit of masking.

finished-card-3

On my two cardstock panels I colored in my digital stamp with alcohol markers. On one I only colored in the boy and a few of the leaves that were in the front of the pile, on the second I spent the most time on the leaf pile and only colored in my boy with the darkest color I used in blending.  Then, using fine detail scissors I fussy cut out the boy and leaves on the first panel and cut out all of the images on the computer paper. With the computer paper and rubber cement I masked off the the little boy and pile of leaves on the second panel, I also masked off 1/4″ border around the entire panel as well with painter’s tape. To add a scene I decided to go with my distress inks in the colors of Mowed Lawn and Salty Ocean and a mini ink blending tool. I just sponged on the color until I was happy with the intensity, then I removed all of the masks and was left with a gorgeous scene.

finished-card-2

Putting this card together started by first cutting out the sentiment on the first panel where I had fussy cut the little boy as well. I made the sentiment from this panel into a banner (watch the video for more info to do that!!) and then started attaching all the pieces to the second panel. I used fun foam and double sided adhesive to attach everything to the panel so it had some nice dimension to it. Finally, I attached my now complete panel to an A2 top folding white card base with more fun foam and double sided adhesive.

finished-card-1


This card was so much fun to make and I just love the end result with all the dimension. I especially love that I had the ease of using digital stamps to create it all! Dimension was never really something I thought of adding to my cards when using my digis, but I am so happy I have found a way to incorporate it!!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card you can find them all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!!


Fall Pile Boy Digital Stamp – Craftin’ Desert Divas

Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48 

2 thoughts on “Adding Dimension to Digital Stamps

Leave a Reply

