die cutting · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Halloween Bookmarks – A Non Candy Treat

Halloween is approaching quickly; where has this year gone? Last year I made treat bags for my son’s class, but I didn’t want to load the kids down with candy at school (I just couldn’t do that to the teacher). So, along with a few other treats (ie. a bracelet, spider ring, stickers, pencil, and one candy bar) I included this little Halloween Bookmark. I understand that these bookmarks are over the top, but as I’ve said before we live in a very small town and my son’s class only had about 17 kids at the time. So, in the video below I’ve shared a few ways to simplify them.

ENJOY!!



Assembling these bookmarks assembly line style is the best way to get them done quickly, so I first completed all of my die cutting. For each bookmark you need two bookmarks cut from white card stock, one fence cut from white, one grass cut from green, one ghost cut from vellum, and I also cut a 2″ circle from the center of a scrap square for a mask. My next step was to do all of my Distress Inking. I added a bit of Antique Linen to the fence to give it a dirty look and some mowed lawn to the grass die cut for more depth. This is one of those steps you can skip if you’re looking to simplify the project and to make the inking go more smoothly and take less time, start with your lightest color and move to your darkest so you’re fingers aren’t transferring so much color. Finally, I masked off the bottom 1/4 of one of the bookmarks with painter’s tape and also used the circle to mask to mask a “Moon” in the upper right hand corner. I proceeded to use three different colors of ink to quickly, and I mean quickly, ink up a night sky. After removing the circle mask, I put the square mask with the circle cut out over the cut out circle and quickly inked up the circle to look like a moon with some yellow and orange.

finishedproject4

With my inking and die cutting done I moved onto the stamping. I used black dye ink for all of my stamping. First I stamped the face onto the vellum ghost using the coordinating stamp set, you can choose either the “o” face or the smiley face, either looks adorable. Next, directly below the inked sky I stamped “Boo to you” in the same dye ink. Now, with my stamping done, I could start putting the bookmark together. I used glossy accents to put down the fence and then the grass over the bottom of the fence. Long blade scissors are wonderful to make the edges flush. Also with glossy accents I attached the little white border for the top circle that enforces the hole. Finally I attached the ghost with a tiny pop dot. Before I said I cut two of the bookmarks for each actual bookmark I was making. During the inking process, the back of the bookmark might get a bit dirty, especially after inking four or five, ink tends to be everywhere. Using double sided adhesive I attached the two bookmarks together, so there was a nice clean white back.

finishedproject1

Since there was so much Distress Ink on these bookmarks, it is not a good idea to give them to anyone to stick inside of a book without laminating them. I used 4 x 6 photo laminating pouches, cut in half long ways to laminate each bookmark. I ran them through twice and then trimmed each one down, leaving 1/4″  of the lamination on the outside. I used a hole punch to  put the hole back into the bookmark so I could put a bit of ribbon into the top of the bookmark. I used a black and white stripe ribbon, but anything “Halloween” themed or colored will do!

finishedproject3


Yes, these bookmarks are a bit of work, especially for an entire class, but they were quite a lot of fun to make and you don’t know how many kiddos I’ve seen at practices, ball games, out and about using them! It is such a delight to see one of your creations actually being put to use!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s cards you will find them all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by!! Happy Crafting!!


Leave a Reply

