Birthday Cards · Christmas Cards · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Creating a Scene – No Masking

There are times when a stamp set is just screaming at me to mask a scene and sometimes I just don’t feel like stamping and cutting masks and putting in a lot of work. So today I want to share with you a card, where I stamped and colored a scene, but there is absolutely NO masking involved. It is a quick and simple card that could easily be duplicated to create a quick set of cards to fill your stash or give as a gift set. I used the Two Paper Divas “Let’s Play” stamp set, and just a reminder and update, Two Paper Divas is closing their store and all the sets have now been marked down 30%, so scoop up any sets you might’ve had your eye on before they’re gone!

ENJOY!



I used my MISTI for all of my stamping, and this would be a great card to duplicate, so using a stamp positioner would greatly speed up the process if you chose to go that route. Starting with a piece f 4″ x 5 1/4″ white card stock I stamped the bag included in the set in the bottom right hand corner of the panel with Memento Tuxedo Black Ink. I then positioned the marbles in the center of the bag, again no masking is necessary because these are clear stamps that you can easily see through to position properly. I stamped that down with the same ink and then the bouncing ball to the left of the bag. Finally I stamped three jacks on the left hand side of the panel. Make sure to watch the video to see exactly how I stamp them to appear as a group with some in front of others without, again, any masking at all.

finished-card-4

With my scene stamped I moved onto coloring. I went with my colored pencils and OMS for coloring the scene, choosing some bright bold colors. This scene you could customize to your style by simply choosing different colors or even distressing the edges for a more vintage appearance. Finally, after coloring and blending out all of the stamped images I brought in two grays to add some shadows underneath each image. For my sentiment I chose the “Enjoy Your Day” phrase from “Banners #3”, also from Two Paper Divas. I stamped the sentiment to the left of the bag right above the bouncing ball, using black dye ink.

finished-card-3

To put my card together I popped the colored panel up with fun foam and double sided adhesive onto an A2 side folding card base. I kept my panel nice and simple, but again you can customize this to fit your personal style by adding sequins, splatters, ribbon, etc. This truly is a card that can work for just about any style!

finished-card-1


It really is nice to leave out the masking sometimes for a bit of a quicker card. This card, again, would be especially to make a set of, which I just might have to do. I especially love this design as it could be for a child or more of nostalgia feeling for anyone that’s older.

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used in today’s Creating a Scene without Masking tutorial you can find them all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by!! Happy Crafting!


Let’s Play – Two Paper Divas Stamp Set

Banners #3 – Two Paper Divas Stamp Set

2 thoughts on “Creating a Scene – No Masking

Leave a Reply

