Alcohol Markers · Christmas Cards · General Cards

Let’s Make a Card

This Monday Digistamps4Joy is having a brand new release. There are some super cute images going up in the shop that are perfect for making your Christmas cards or just a random winter card, for any occasion. Today, I used the brand new “Snowman – Scarf” digital stamp to create a fun winter themed card that I will be using as a “hello” card (which can then be transformed for any occasion just by stamping a sentiment on the inside). The snowman image I used is so simple and quick to color in, but the design allowed me to really jazz up my card by adding some chunky glitter for a fun “sparkly snow” effect! So my computer crashed and I lost today’s video, however, I do have a detailed write up below on how I made my card for the new release, and don’t forget to head over the Digistamps4Joy shop to see the DT’s creations as well as all the other images that are now up for sale! I will make sure to be back with a video next time!! Sorry for the inconvenience!


Of course I started in Photoshop Elements and opened a new blank file that measured 4″ x 5.25″ I brought in and placed the “”digital stamp, then stretched it out to fill up the majority of the panel. I printed using my laser printer, but I didn’t bother to trim anything out just yet. Using my alcohol markers I quickly colored in the image. I kept the coloring very simple and all in all it took about 10 minutes to color everything in.

finished-card-4

With my image colored I used my fine detail scissors to fussy cut the image around the border and then used my black alcohol marker, running it along the cut edges for a cleaner finish. I put on a medium layer of glossy accents over each little “snowflake” and also on the snow on the ground beneath the snow man. Quickly, while the glossy accents was still wet I sprinkled on Distress Glitter in “”. I didn’t bother knocking off the excess, but instead I let it dry with the all the extra glitter still on the panel for more coverage. When it was dry I dusted off the extra glitter and funneled it back into the container.

finished-card-1

For my sentiment I thought I would be a little cheeky and use the “warm thoughts” sentiment from the Sentiment Sampler set from Paper Smooches. In order not to cover up any of the digi I stamped the sentiment with Versamark Ink onto a piece of vellum and then heat embossed with black embossing powder. I wrapped the vellum strip around the colored panel and secure it to the back so no adhesive would show through. Finally, I mounted the panel onto an A2 top folding card base that was white.

finished-card-3


This was such a simple card to make, but I am so happy with the sparkly outcome! Make sure to head over to the Digistamps4Joy shop to see the rest of the new release and the rest of the inspiration that the design team has created!

If you’re interested in the brand new digis that were released today, make sure to head over to the DS4J shop!!! You can do that by clicking HERE! Thanks for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


 

Leave a Reply

