Christmas Cards · Die Cutting Techniques · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Making a Photo Card

Sending Christmas cards every year is quite the chore, especially when trying to come up with a card design to incorporate a photo. Today, I wanted to share with you a card design that allows you to send a regular A2 sized card, but also incorporates a family picture on the inside. And if you use a bit of removable adhesive to adhere the photo it could easily be removed for saving! Make sure to watch the video below to get all the details!

ENJOY!!


First, I cut all of my card pieces to size, meaning, I had my A2 top folding card base ready to go, I cut down a 4×6 photo to A2 size and also cut a sheet of acetate to A2 size as well. My next step was to cut off the majority of the front panel of my card base. I used a scalloped die and ran it through my die cutting machine, leaving only about a .5″ flap behind.

finished-card-2

For the stamping on the card, I started with the “Noel” sentiment from the Snowflake Wonder stamp set from Inspired by Stamping and stamped it across the .5″ flap on the card base and then heat embossed the sentiments. Next, I laid my acetate sheet over the photo and positioned the larger sentiment in the bottom right hand corner (This way I wasn’t covering any faces!), after stamping it down I heat embossed it with silver embossing powder. My final stamping was done with all the snowflakes from the stamp set. I stamped them randomly, filling up the acetate sheet and then heat embossed those as well. **All of my stamping was done with Versamark Ink and heat embossed with silver embossing powder. You also want to make sure you use your embossing bag, especially on the acetate!

finished-card-1

This card was very simple to put together, I just put down some double sided adhesive on the back of the white flap and then attached the acetate sheet to fill in the rest of the front panel. I also put the photo inside the card with double sided adhesive as well. If you wanted to, using removable adhesive for the back of the photo would be an awesome idea! This way, the recipient could remove the photo before they throw out the card.

finished-card-4


Making this photo card seemed like a daunting task, but once I got started it was SO SIMPLE! I really couldn’t believe how fast it came together and how much I loved the end result! Above you can see how I used this exact same card design, only subbed out the acetate for vellum. You can do this and still add a photo behind, or if you didn’t want to include a photo, you can make it exactly how I made it without a photo added in!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you can find them all linked below! Thank you so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


 Snowflake Wonder Stamp Set – Inspired by Stamping

Leave a Reply

