Birthday Cards · Colored Pencils · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Colored Pencils on Kraft

I have a bit of exciting news today – I will be joining the 2017 Inspired by Stamping Design Team!! I have guest designed for this fabulous company in the past (You can find those posts HERE and HERE) and I am soo excited to be a part of a very talented and creative group of designers! Inspired by Stamping manufactures HIGH QUALITY stamps and dies as well as some accessories too! Today I wanted to share a card with you featuring the “Fresh Bouquet” stamp set from Inspired by Stamping (I’ve used this stamp set a few times before including HERE with bleach) as well as some colored pencil coloring on Kraft card stock. Make sure to watch the video below for all the details!

ENJOY!



I wanted to create a true one layer card so I started with an A2 kraft card base and put it into my MISTI for stamping. Using the flower image from the “Fresh Bouquet” stamp set and Memento Tuxedo Black Ink , along with my MISTI, I placed the stamp on the bottom left hand corner of the card base with part hanging off the edge and stamped it down. Then, I moved the same stamp to the top right hand corner of the card base and stamped a portion there as well.

finished-card-2

For the coloring I pulled out my brand new Prismacolor Colored Pencils. I used three different shades of each color that I chose to use. I used green for both types of leaves, purples for the peonies and blues for the hydrangea. If at any time I was unsure of an image that was hanging off the edge of the card stock I just looked at the stamp for reference. I also came in with white at the end of the coloring for some highlights in the center of the hydrangeas.

finished-card-3

With my images colored in all that was left to do was stamp a sentiment on this one layer card. I built a sentiment from the “Sending You” stamp set that read “Sending You Birthday Wishes” and stamped it in between the two flower corners using black dye ink and my MISTI to finish off the card!

finished-card-1


This is such a simple (and flat) card that is going to go through the mail perfectly! I love making one layer cards and putting a little extra effort into the coloring! Colored pencils on kraft cardstock is a great way to really let the coloring on your card shine!

Again, I am so excited to join the Inspired by Stamping Design Team so be sure to look out for more video tutorial featuring their gorgeous stamps!! You can find all the other lady’s blogs on my side bar, just click their name and go check out their blogs as well! It is truly a VERY talented group!!

If you are interested in the stamps sets I used on today’s card, you can find them linked below! Thanks for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


2 thoughts on “Colored Pencils on Kraft

Leave a Reply

