Alcohol Markers · Coloring · Digital Images · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Tips: Adhering Vellum

Do you ever have a card design that turns out completely different from your envisioned project? This card was one of those! I had envisioned a shaker card, with an ombre sentiment and very fun and vibrant, perfect for Valentine’s Day. But it ended up being very romantic and while still beautiful, it was much more elegant and more fit for an anniversary or wedding. Watch the video tutorial below to see the twists and turns this card took, along with a few tips and trick on adhering vellum to your cards!

Also, this card was made for the new #cddmonthly social media challenge. If you haven’t seen the new mood board yet, you MUST go check it out! It is BEAUTIFUL!!! There have been a ton of new Digital Stamps put into the CDD Shop that fit it perfectly, and the best part is they are only $0.99! So be sure to go check out all the newly released digis!!

ENJOY!!



Starting in Photoshop Elements with a new blank 6 x 6 project I brought in the flowers digital stamp from the “Wings of Love” Digital Stamp Set and just kept duplicating and moving the stamp around to create my own patterned paper. After printing it off with my laser printer, I used my alcohol markers to quickly color in the images. Finally, with the largest scalloped rectangle die from the “Fancy Frame” die set, I cut the 6 x 6 paper.

Finished Card 3

For the sentiment I used the “Wishful Thoughts” stamp set and built up a “Wishing You a Lifetime of Happiness” sentiment to stamp onto a vellum scalloped rectangle die cut, from the same die set as before. I used my MISTI and black die to ink to stamp it. To secure the vellum die cut onto the larger patterned paper die cut I used the smaller die to cut two corners from green card stock (the same shade I was using for the card base). After cutting the corners to the exact same size, I adhered them onto the front of the vellum die cut, on opposite sides, with double sided adhesive.

Finished Card 4

To finish this card I first adhered the patterned paper die cut onto a green A2 top folding card base with fun foam and double sided adhesive. Then, using the same double sided adhesive, I adhered the vellum die cut in the center of that panel, putting the adhesive behind the green corners I adhered. I also used a tiny bit of multi medium matte on the two corners without any adhesive. Finally, to pull everything together, I added a few drops of enamel accents in Black Tie, and scattered them around the sentiment!

Finished Card 2


Through all the twists and turns this card took, I am very happy with the way it turned out and I am so glad I didn’t cover the patterned paper I made. I hope I was able to share a few tips and tricks on adhering vellum panels and elements to your cards as well!! Also, be sure to enter a card of your own into this month’s #cddmonthly social media challenge! There are so many great new digital stamps that fit the mood board this month, you won’t be disappointed!!

If you are interested in any of the supplies I used on my card today, you can find them all linked below! Thank you so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


The_Wings_of_Love_shop_image__94709.1483666222.1280.1280

The Wings of Love Digital Stamp Set

Wishful_Thoughts__57508.1459886364.500.750

Wishful Thoughts Stamp Set

Fancy_Frame_Dies__07267.1439496600.500.750

Fancy Frame Dies

24532-1489-3ww-lDick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

P1668165PM0L__07599

Vellum

P1849005PM1L__02965

Ranger Black Tie Dye Ink Pad

Misti_Original_Box_Front1

MISTI

I2990922IT0L__27700Multi Medium Matte
GAC48855_260x340_8d62056a-e930-46fb-bfaa-7942eaa392a8

Ranger Black Tie Enamel Accents

1189_28__38540Fun Foam

Scor_Tape_1_eighth

Scor-Tape

P1849332PM1L__57409Big Shot

Leave a Reply

