Die Cutting Techniques · General Cards · Thank You Cards · Video Tutorial

Die Cut Scene

Today over at Craftin’ Desert Divas, a brand new die set is being introduced (along with a new stamp set as well). The new Scene Builders Die set is an awesome new set that comes with a whopping 23 individual dies that can be combined to create some awesome elements that you can mix and match to pull together some beautiful scenes! For my video tutorial I put together an entire die cut inlay scene and added an interactive slider element with the slider die included in the new Scene Builders Die Set! Also, I incorporated last month’s newly release Truck Dies set to pull it all together!! Be sure to watch the video tutorial below for all the details

ENJOY!!



First, I used the large rectangle from the Crazy Stitched Frame Die Set and cut three rectangles, one from light blue cardstock, one from green cardstock, and finally one from black card stock. My first cut was from the black rectangle with the road die, making sure the bottom cutting edge was hanging off the bottom edge. Then, I used the same road die to cut the road into the green card stock, making sure to overlay the black panel to get exact placement. To create the sky I simply lined up the blue and green rectangles in my paper trimmer and cut them in half right above where the road ended. In the blue panel, I cut the mountains and used the same mountain die to cut a gray cutout and then the three snow caps from white card stock. Finally, I cut the cloud from the blue panel in the top right hand corner and also from white card stock.

Finished Card 3

To inlay all of my pieces I cut a large rectangle from computer paper, as my backing. Then, I just started putting the scene together starting from the top and working my way down to be sure all the pieces fit together perfectly and using glossy accents to secure them into place. To see how I put together the slider, be sure to watch the video tutorial above for the full details!

Finished Card 2

To finish the card off I stamped thank you, from the “Simply Said” stamp set, into the top left hand corner in black dye ink. Finally I popped up the panel onto an A2 top folding white card base with fun foam and double sided adhesive!

Finished Card 4


This new die set has so many great possibilities and can be used with virtually any stamp set to create a fun, and interactive, scene! This card was quite a lot of work, however, if you wanted to simplify it you could just cut out all the inlaying and it would still be just as fun and cute!

If you are interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you can find them all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!!


Crazy_Stitched_Frame_Dies__36446.1465337162.500.750

Crazy Stitched Frame Die Set

16251887_1284200574960939_3516611725180767252_o

Scene Builders Die Set

15724888_1251179521596378_2736483699773339669_o

Truck Die Set

Simply_Said__28150.1439581818.500.750

Simply Said Stamp Set

Leave a Reply

